Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Tried to purchase PREPAID bundles -- Telkom Portal not working !

  1. #1
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Tried to purchase PREPAID bundles -- Telkom Portal not working !

    SO
    We have a few prepaid Telkom Mobile SIM cards
    Wanted to purchase more data but under the X amount of data per month for twelve months plan

    PREPAID
    Z'khipa More
    ( Telkom More )

    Went to the Telkom Direct shop this morning -- they tell us NO you can ONLY do that package ONLINE
    OK
    So go to the Telkom Portal and look for the numbers of the Prepaid SIM cards
    Look and look and look - NO this service is unavailable
    Go to the Telkom APP on the mobile -- Sorry we are having problems processing your data
    WHAT next ?
    Go to the ATM ? ( STILL waiting for a refund on that R100.00 which seems to have got lost in cyberspace somewhere )

    HOW can we support Telkom when they do not allow us to purchase anything ?

    Can anyone tell me what the next step is -- that has ANY chance of working ?
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The next logical step would be to vote with your money and switch providers. Ezpz

  3. #3
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Suggestions ...????

    Quote Originally Posted by Aqox View Post
    The next logical step would be to vote with your money and switch providers. Ezpz
    Thank you for those wise words
    WHO else would you suggest ? ( that has the same or better [ PREPAID - NOT contract ] data prices and plans )
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I dont see Internet Starter pack (which is what you seem to want) mentioned on the Telkom website anymore, maybe discontinued?
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster f2wohf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    12,207
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I never manage to recharge via the website.

    The app usually works after 3 or 4 tries.

    Their payment system is always the culprit.

  6. #6
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation What you need to know !

    Quote Originally Posted by supersunbird View Post
    I dont see Internet Starter pack (which is what you seem to want) mentioned on the Telkom website anymore, maybe discontinued?
    Have a look here

    https://secure.telkom.co.za/today/ca...pha-even-more/

    GO to -- "What you need to know" ( A pdf document download )

    This tells you the different options

    Also available if you go to *180# using USSD codes
    From what I can work out you need to ALREADY have money in the system to be able to convert into a "bundle"
    IF ;
    I could access the different SIM cards via the portal I assume I could do this and pay via CCard

    One is ONLY able to learn Telkom via the -- School of Hard Knocks and Serious Trauma !
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation A tale of MANY bundles .... ( and RAGE ! )

    Quote Originally Posted by supersunbird View Post
    I dont see Internet Starter pack (which is what you seem to want) mentioned on the Telkom website anymore, maybe discontinued?
    OK
    One step forward but a few back

    Went to the selfhelp part of the Telkom Portal ( separate login )
    Wonderful can see ALL the Telkom Mobile SIM cards can click on the expand button = WOW WONDERFUL

    Come to do the top up story -- HHhmmmm

    On the SIM that is tied to the Home Unlimited I have the option of a NUMBER of bundles -- ONE of which is the top up for twelve months PREPAID
    Great stuff this option exists -- on a SIM that is tied into the Home Unlimited package and gets updated every month with ONE GiG of data = No problem

    Now go to the SIM that is NOT locked into the Home Unlimited

    WEIRD ... on this SIM there are only TWO [DATA] bundle options -- "once-off" & "LTE Once-Off" data expires after a couple of weeks -- ONCE-OFF !

    WHY on these other SIM cards is there NO -- day / month / year bundle options ( as in the case of the Home Unlimited SIM ) ?????? WHY

    Does one need to change to some OTHER Tariff plan ?
    Does one need to go and get a whole DIFFERENT SIM card ????

    Free beer for a week for whoever can [SUCCESSFULLY ] answer the question ?
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightWizard View Post
    OK
    One step forward but a few back

    Went to the selfhelp part of the Telkom Portal ( separate login )
    Wonderful can see ALL the Telkom Mobile SIM cards can click on the expand button = WOW WONDERFUL

    Come to do the top up story -- HHhmmmm

    On the SIM that is tied to the Home Unlimited I have the option of a NUMBER of bundles -- ONE of which is the top up for twelve months PREPAID
    Great stuff this option exists -- on a SIM that is tied into the Home Unlimited package and gets updated every month with ONE GiG of data = No problem

    Now go to the SIM that is NOT locked into the Home Unlimited

    WEIRD ... on this SIM there are only TWO [DATA] bundle options -- "once-off" & "LTE Once-Off" data expires after a couple of weeks -- ONCE-OFF !

    WHY on these other SIM cards is there NO -- day / month / year bundle options ( as in the case of the Home Unlimited SIM ) ?????? WHY

    Does one need to change to some OTHER Tariff plan ?
    Does one need to go and get a whole DIFFERENT SIM card ????

    Free beer for a week for whoever can [SUCCESSFULLY ] answer the question ?
    Oh yes... trying to remember the names but yes, there are 2 different data SIM "types".
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    OK, the one type is SmartBroadband and the other SmartInternet

    https://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthr...1#post21033057
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  11. #11
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow SOMEHOW ?

    Quote Originally Posted by supersunbird View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions
    Unfortunately -- "SOMEHOW" is not going to qualify -- as a "Successful" answer

    Wait for hours on the Telkom "help" line ?
    Go into the Telkom Direct shop and wait in the queue ( to still come up empty handed ? )

    Decisions Decisions .....
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightWizard View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions
    Unfortunately -- "SOMEHOW" is not going to qualify -- as a "Successful" answer

    Wait for hours on the Telkom "help" line ?
    Go into the Telkom Direct shop and wait in the queue ( to still come up empty handed ? )

    Decisions Decisions .....
    Is the other SIM a contract data SIM or prepaid?

    If a prepaid SIM, then you can switch the type of plan somewhere in the USSD menus (what I suspect the guy did), if contract SIM, tough luck.
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  13. #13
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down AAAARRRGGGHHHHH ..............

    Quote Originally Posted by supersunbird View Post
    Is the other SIM a contract data SIM or prepaid?
    If a prepaid SIM, then you can switch the type of plan somewhere in the USSD menus (what I suspect the guy did), if contract SIM, tough luck.
    There are THREE other SIMS -- lots of routers / laptops / tablets
    ALL are PREPAID
    Seems you get given a new SIM when SOMETHING is not working on the old one
    Have a look at what happened to BWANA -- seems Telkom give out SIMS like Smarties

    I tried last night to change the tariff plan via USSD -- message came back "unable to process your request at this time"
    Do I now have to put EVERY SIM in a mobile first in order to change the Tariff plan ?

    TELKOM WHEREFORE ART THOUGH !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  14. #14
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    3,750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb UPDATE

    OK
    Tried out a couple of things ( and had SOME successes )

    I had to go to the MyTelkom website in order to see the SIM cards registered to me.

    In order to be able to apply the -- prepaid once off payment for the month by month fixed data your TARIFF plan MUST BE -- "Telkom MORE" the "Smart Broadband Wireless" does NOT have those options !

    You are able to switch TARIFF plan ONLY ONCE per MONTH !

    Once you are on the Telkom MORE plan the options for DATA BUNDLE purchase then become available -- under "STARTER INTERNET PACK"

    It appears you can only switch TARIFF plan via USSD codes in a mobile phone ?
    Also it appears that IF using USSD to top up you MUST ALREADY have the necessary funds available on that SIM
    ( I imagine in AIRTIME which you then covert to a bundle )

    IF using the web-portal you may use your credit card to pay for the prepaid plan
    This will appear as an SMS if you have your bank linked -- you also get an SMS and email notification and verification.

    I also tried at the ATM to see if the month by month prepaid option was available as a data bundle option.
    Far as I could see the only options available were once off single month data top-ups ( or airtime )

    As pointed out previously the PREPAID month by month option is NOT available -- IN-STORE.
    ( although this type of package IS available IN-STORE at VODACOM ! )

    So that is about it -- hope this might help someone else ......
    IF I discover more I will post it here.
    Jedi Warrior - In Training
    There is no ignorance; there is knowledge.
    doctus cum multis libris

  15. #15
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    42,051
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So that's what it was, Telkom More. The prepaid SIM I had was removed/recycled, so I could not check what plan it was, it had had an Internet Starter Pack for a while.

    I' glad you came right.
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Telkom LIT Prepaid bundles
    By cavedog in forum Telkom Mobile Data
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29-11-2017, 05:38 PM
  2. Telkom LIT prepaid bundles launched
    By Newsfeed in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 29-11-2017, 10:32 AM
  3. Telkom FreeMe – prepaid bundles lose out on great value
    By Kevin Lancaster in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27-10-2016, 05:05 PM
  4. Telkom prepaid data bundles
    By jacques is hier in forum Telkom Mobile Data
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-12-2014, 08:40 PM
  5. Buying data bundles for prepaid not working
    By LandyMan in forum Vodacom Mobile Data
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 03:17 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •