Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 44 of 44

Thread: Help me choose a TV

  1. #31
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hatfield
    Posts
    5,564
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Hoxbig View Post
    Lots of people saying depending on your budget. What is your budget? That would be a better starting point...
    I have R6000 in hifi Corp vouchers, wouldn't want to go over R7000
    In South Africa even the information superhighway has potholes in it.

  2. #32
    Super Grandmaster Mike Hoxbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,794
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
    I have R6000 in hifi Corp vouchers, wouldn't want to go over R7000
    Then you'd be robbing yourself by limiting it to a store. Try sell those vouchers and use the money elsewhere.

    You can get an LG 49" UH603V from Dion Wired for R6,999 - this comes with WebOS 3.0 (IMO the best smart TV OS), UHD and HDR...
    ಠ_ಠ
    <|>
    /ω\

  3. #33
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hatfield
    Posts
    5,564
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Hoxbig View Post
    Then you'd be robbing yourself by limiting it to a store. Try sell those vouchers and use the money elsewhere.

    You can get an LG 49" UH603V from Dion Wired for R6,999 - this comes with WebOS 3.0 (IMO the best smart TV OS), UHD and HDR...
    I've tried - no dice on selling those vouchers so far. I have a mi box, so I'm not too fussed by smart functionality.
    In South Africa even the information superhighway has potholes in it.

  4. #34
    Super Grandmaster Mike Hoxbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,794
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
    I've tried - no dice on selling those vouchers so far. I have a mi box, so I'm not too fussed by smart functionality.
    Perhaps, but the Mi Box won't be giving you HDR if the TV doesn't support it. And HDR is probably more important than UHD is.

    If you're limited to HiFi Corp for a UHD set then I suppose you have no option other than the N3000. But this will have no HDR and no local dimming, so don't expect the best picture quality.

    In which case you may as well go for the 55" FHD because you won't really notice just the resolution bump on it's own without all the supporting tech...
    ಠ_ಠ
    <|>
    /ω\

  5. #35
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Hoxbig View Post
    Perhaps, but the Mi Box won't be giving you HDR if the TV doesn't support it. And HDR is probably more important than UHD is.

    If you're limited to HiFi Corp for a UHD set then I suppose you have no option other than the N3000. But this will have no HDR and no local dimming, so don't expect the best picture quality.

    In which case you may as well go for the 55" FHD because you won't really notice just the resolution bump on it's own without all the supporting tech...
    The N3000 has HDR.

  6. #36
    Super Grandmaster Mike Hoxbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,794
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    The N3000 has HDR.
    No it doesn't.

    http://www.mweb.co.za/games/view/tab...8-Edition.aspx

    Hisense's own site doesn't list it under the technical specs.

    It may have had a firmware update that does some kind of weird HDR emulation, but it's not proper HDR...
    ಠ_ಠ
    <|>
    /ω\

  7. #37
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Hoxbig View Post
    No it doesn't.

    http://www.mweb.co.za/games/view/tab...8-Edition.aspx

    Hisense's own site doesn't list it under the technical specs.

    It may have had a firmware update that does some kind of weird HDR emulation, but it's not proper HDR...
    The 55n3000 has HDR.

  8. #38
    Super Grandmaster Mike Hoxbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,794
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    The 55n3000 has HDR.
    Show us where.

    https://hisense.co.za/product/55-uhd...3000-55n3000uw

    N3000 is N3000...
    ಠ_ಠ
    <|>
    /ω\

  9. #39
    Super Grandmaster DrJohnZoidberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Table View
    Posts
    20,284
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    The 55n3000 has HDR.
    It may be able to read an HDR signal but it definitely doesn't provide the brightness and colour depth and doesn't have any form of local dimming to be classified as true HDR.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zolani99 View Post
    The atheists won't be forced to bow their heads, they can just imagine themselves burning in hell.

  10. #40
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DrJohnZoidberg View Post
    It may be able to read an HDR signal but it definitely doesn't provide the brightness and colour depth and doesn't have any form of local dimming to be classified as true HDR.
    It is a budget 4k HDR tv, so you can't compare it to others much more expensive.

    Still, it has HDR.

  11. #41
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Hoxbig View Post
    Same tv, different firmware:

    https://hisenseme.com/product/55″-uhd-series-3-2/

  12. #42
    Super Grandmaster DrJohnZoidberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Table View
    Posts
    20,284
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    It is a budget 4k HDR tv, so you can't compare it to others much more expensive.

    Still, it has HDR.
    The TV is only advertised as having 350 nits (or 250 depending on which source is correct) of brightness and I highly doubt it is using a 10bit panel, therefor it does not have HDR.

    To say it has HDR is like saying a 720p TV is full HD because you can feed it a 1080p signal.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zolani99 View Post
    The atheists won't be forced to bow their heads, they can just imagine themselves burning in hell.

  13. #43
    Super Grandmaster Mike Hoxbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,794
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    Firmware means nothing if the hardware can't do it.

    Emulation doesn't make it HDR...
    ಠ_ಠ
    <|>
    /ω\

  14. #44
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    3,026
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikkop View Post
    The firmware only helps the TV to process an HDR input but the TV will never be able to display the HDR content.

    A TV must have at least a 10 bit panel which is mostly found in a manufacturers upper-midrange to flagship TV's.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. If you can choose one of these, which will it be?
    By Piesang in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2015, 01:02 PM
  2. Which ISP to choose?
    By [email protected] in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 09:34 AM
  3. Please help me choose
    By Devill in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 11:09 AM
  4. Which ISP should I choose
    By Ghost02 in forum ADSL and VDSL ISP Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20-05-2008, 06:44 PM
  5. Help me choose
    By cryptic1 in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-10-2007, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •