Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Vodacom K3772-z MiFi

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Vodacom K3772-z MiFi or alternatives

    Hi

    Has anyone managed to get this mifi to work with non Vodacom or RAIN sim? i.e debrand it?

    I have one lying around I never use that came with a laptop deal a I got a few yrs ago from IC, thought I could get it to work for an elderly relative to at least allow them access to internet at HSDPA rates as the mob signal in their area is pretty bad.
    Thought this little dinosaur might at least pick up a stronger signal than their mob phone does...

    Failing that any other recommendations for a inexpensive mifi device that won't break their pensioner pockets?
    Last edited by MirageF1; 04-07-2018 at 08:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Have you tried different SIMs in it? Chances are it's not network locked.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by riscbroker View Post
    Have you tried different SIMs in it? Chances are it's not network locked.
    Yes RAIN.
    It has preinstalled vmb s/w on it so it would need to be unbranded anyway.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm not sure that it needs to be 'unbranded' - I'm currently using an MTN SIM in a Vodafone-branded mi-fi that has Vodafone software on it. I've used the same device with Vodacom and Telkom SIMs, but never had a RAIN SIM to test with. Maybe try an MTN SIM.

    Edit:Are you testing with the appropriate APN and user name/password with the RAIN SIM?
    Last edited by riscbroker; 04-07-2018 at 09:44 AM.

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    11,171
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    +1. Rain has a list of approved devices and rejects all others. Contact Rain to find out whether your device is approved.

    Try with MTN, Telkom or Cell C prepaid SIM. Leave username/password and APN empty, it will obtain default values from SIM. If Vodafone dialup profile is hardwired, it may need two-step setup: create a new dialup profile, then acivate such profile.
    "We own South Africa but State Capture is a problem as Zuma has friends and no-one belong to our family."

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Vodacom K3772-Z not detecting device after installtion
    By digeo in forum Vodacom Mobile Data
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-11-2013, 10:32 AM
  2. vodacom K3772-Z NAT
    By v3n0m0uS in forum General Broadband Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-11-2012, 02:31 PM
  3. vodacom 3G K3772-Z moderm drives
    By oscarlets in forum Vodacom Mobile Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-06-2012, 03:53 AM
  4. Vodacom K3772 + ADSL Modem
    By Ziggy_Stardust in forum Vodacom Mobile Data
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-05-2012, 11:26 AM
  5. vodacom K3772-Z with MTN sim
    By SpYkz in forum MTN Mobile Data
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-12-2011, 02:09 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •