Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Telkom ADSL, issues after 7pm most nights

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    JHB, RSA
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Telkom ADSL, issues after 7pm most nights

    I have been referred to the huge telkom ADSL topic, but i cannot see what I am looking for.
    What causes my ADSL connection to go wonky after 7pm most nights?

    For example, I can access my broadband no problem, but type in google - server not found
    Open speedtest.net, sometimes fine, speeds report fine 8mbps up, .89mbps down. 5 minutes later, server not found.
    Try search on google. Server not found. After 7pm it's nearly impossible to use google.
    Open secure.telkom.co.za. It loads, click on login, server not found.

    It's REALLY irritating not having a search engine!

    Tracert to google.co.za, www.bing.com, www.telkom.co.za; all - Unable to resolve target system name

    tracert www.speedtest.net
    Tracing route to zd.map.fastly.net [151.101.174.219]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.10.10.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 21 ms 18 ms 19 ms 105-187-232-57.telkomsa.net [105.187.232.57]
    4 19 ms 19 ms 18 ms 105.224.0.162
    5 19 ms 20 ms 18 ms ipc-aggr-1.north.telkomsa.net [105.224.0.13]
    6 21 ms 19 ms 20 ms jb1.telkomsa.net [105.187.252.102]
    7 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 196.60.8.13
    8 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms 151.101.174.219

    The nest day it's fine again the whole day until about around 7pm...
    Telkom support's suggestions seem to be - restart the modem, and we'll reset the port.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Have exactly the same issue!. Just posted on twatter..again, and although the guys are nice, as you say...restart and ports reset..we dont see anything wrong

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    North of the Jukskei
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have exactly the same problem, but I have 10mbps fibre from Openserve! It's actually worse than the ADSL I had which usually used to respond to a router restart.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Didnt mention but yes I am also a fibre customer

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    9,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Same issue and on 10 meg fibre and it is actually quite annoying that I can't use half my favourite sites.

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    9,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tried my Axxess free account and works fine so it's the telkom accounts which are the issue.

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So after another twitter complaint the answer was......
    Hi there line is currently connected please reboot router test and advise thank you ^Fred

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    9,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David101 View Post
    So after another twitter complaint the answer was......
    Hi there line is currently connected please reboot router test and advise thank you ^Fred
    I tried rebooting the one night 3 times and still no luck then after 11 pm then suddenly everything worked.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    North of the Jukskei
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ichigo View Post
    I tried rebooting the one night 3 times and still no luck then after 11 pm then suddenly everything worked.
    Telkom “refreshed” my port. For the past three evenings my line has been fine. The consultant did warn me though that the exchange is congested and that may be causing the problem. So far so good, but who knows for how long?

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    9,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexandergrahambell View Post
    Telkom “refreshed” my port. For the past three evenings my line has been fine. The consultant did warn me though that the exchange is congested and that may be causing the problem. So far so good, but who knows for how long?
    Well my line has been fine the past few days so don't think it has to do with anything they did and my exchange isn't congested here so definitely an account issue.

  11. #11
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    960
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Same speed problem here, not quite as bad as yours but fiber.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Kempton Park, Johannesburg
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi I am also experiencing the same issue on my 10MBPS ADSL Line. Given the fact that i do not use the line during the day and when i come from work i cant enjoy my shows on Netflix is such and annoying thing

  13. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Strangely, but thankfully, the last 2 nights = 100% fine

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Kempton Park, Johannesburg
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i have the same issue with my 10Mbps ADSL, please assist me what i need to tell them to resolve, on another note i work for an ISP and have a uncapped bandwidth but with limited usage of 300GB. I have a seperate router which was working fine but it looks like Telkom is playing games on me.... it works fine for 5min and disconnects internet. I am paying them for the line and data and i have no problem, but why are they blocking me.
    please help, private message is welcome

  15. #15
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ichigo View Post
    Well my line has been fine the past few days so don't think it has to do with anything they did and my exchange isn't congested here so definitely an account issue.
    What could an "account" problem then be? I must also then have had one!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Telkom ADSL issues
    By neilronaldson in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2016, 09:31 AM
  2. Telkom ADSL issues - what can I do
    By migraineboy in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14-02-2016, 06:11 PM
  3. Telkom ADSL issues (AGAIN...)
    By Mycroft in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2012, 12:17 PM
  4. Telkom ADSL Issues
    By AllyA in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-08-2010, 12:50 PM
  5. ADSL issues & Telkom
    By arf9999 in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-12-2006, 03:30 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •