Google has announced that from 10 July, new photos and videos in Google Drive won’t automatically show up in your Google Photos account, and new content in Photos won’t be added to Google Drive.
According to Google, this change is designed to prevent the accidental deletion of items across products.
“Our goal with these changes is to simplify some features that caused confusion for our users, based on feedback and our own research.” said Google.
Google also announced that it would be bringing a new feature to Google Photos called “Upload from Drive,” which allows users to manually copy images from their Drive account to the Photos app.
These images will not be linked however, meaning that if you delete the image from your Google Drive, it will remain in your Photos app.
“Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos,” added Google.