Google Drive and Photos will no longer automatically sync

Bradley Prior

MyBroadband Journalist
Staff member
Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
5,029
Reaction score
1,585
Google Drive and Photos will no longer automatically sync

Google has announced that from 10 July, new photos and videos in Google Drive won’t automatically show up in your Google Photos account, and new content in Photos won’t be added to Google Drive.

According to Google, this change is designed to prevent the accidental deletion of items across products.
 
Google getting scary yo'. Sent a link the other day with a slideshow created of all the pictures I've taken of my dogs. Complete with barking music and all - was very well done, and prompted me to go through my privacy settings once again...
 
The first thing I do after activating a new phone is turn off all the sync and auto-update settings
 
Last edited:
As long as the content on my phone gets synced to Google's Cloud, I'm good.
 
Google getting scary yo'. Sent a link the other day with a slideshow created of all the pictures I've taken of my dogs. Complete with barking music and all - was very well done, and prompted me to go through my privacy settings once again...

Have you played around with the built in Google Lens camera app thingamajig on your Android?
I forgot about it until I messed around with it a little bit the other day on my phone.

Almost k@kked myself. Their ability to recognize objects real-time is insane.
 
I don't think this has to do with deleting by accident maybe it's about storage.

I really like the auto sync feature as all my photos and videos that are taken with my S10 is on my account to view immediately on all my other devices without the need to fiddle with uploads or settings on each new device.

Might have been better to just not deleting a photo from drive delete it from photos instead of having a button to have the moved or copied between drive and photos. I have shortcuts to drive on my phones and computers so it being able be on both platforms without the need to fiddle was nice.
 
I fixed my settings already.. can manually sync deletes.

Lost plenty when they took over Picasa desktop and changed the syncing behaviour / had a bug.
 
I don't think this has to do with deleting by accident maybe it's about storage.

I really like the auto sync feature as all my photos and videos that are taken with my S10 is on my account to view immediately on all my other devices without the need to fiddle with uploads or settings on each new device.

Might have been better to just not deleting a photo from drive delete it from photos instead of having a button to have the moved or copied between drive and photos. I have shortcuts to drive on my phones and computers so it being able be on both platforms without the need to fiddle was nice.
Don't you have the Google Photos app on your phone? If you're on Wifi, take a pic and look on photos.google.com in a few minutes- mine syncs.

My question though is, why would you want to waste space by having the same photos on Drive and Photos?
 
Have you played around with the built in Google Lens camera app thingamajig on your Android?
I forgot about it until I messed around with it a little bit the other day on my phone.

Almost k@kked myself. Their ability to recognize objects real-time is insane.

I haven't really, but I will now :)
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X