A new Facebook privacy setting will make facial recognition in photos opt-in by default.
Face Recognition replaces Tag Suggestions, and is rolling out to all Facebook users from today.
With Face Recognition turned on, Facebook notifies you if a picture of you is uploaded online – even if you are not tagged.
You then receive three options:
- Tag yourself
- Stay untagged
- Report the photo
Face Recognition was first introduced in December 2017, but it was only available to a limited number of users.
Those who have not had Face Recognition available as a setting will receive a notification in their News Feed that will allow them to turn the feature on.
If they choose not to, however, Face Recognition will remain disabled by default.