Software24.07.2017

Telegram adds disappearing photos

Telegram logo

Telegram now allows users to set a self-destruct timer for photos and videos they share in private chats.

“If you set a timer, the countdown starts the moment your recipient opens the photo or video you sent,” said Telegram.

After the time runs out, the photo or video will disappear – like in Secret Chats.

If the recipient tries to take a screenshot of disappearing media, the sender will receive a notification.

Telegram has also received a redesigned photo-editing tool, which “takes fewer taps to make photos look amazing”.

Enhancements

Telegram 4.2 further allows users to add a bio to their profile.

To enhance the performance of Telegram, it will now rely on a CDN to cache publicly-available photos and videos posted in massive channels (100,000+ members).

This will result in higher download speeds for millions of Telegram users around the world, it said.

Now read: Telegram voice calling launched in South Africa

Show comments

Latest news

More news

Trending news

Poll

Who do you think makes the best airfryers?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter