WhatsApp has launched new privacy-focused group invitation settings to give users more control over which groups they are added to.
From the Settings menu, users can now select the Groups option under the Privacy section to change whether they can automatically be added to groups.
Users are able to choose between “Nobody”, “My Contacts”, or “Everyone” for default group invitation approvals.
If the admin of a group is unable to automatically add a WhatsApp user due to their privacy and invitation settings, that user will receive an invitation to join the group which expires after 72 hours.
“With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive,” WhatsApp said.
“These new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks to those using the latest version of WhatsApp.”