Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Static Routing and prepaid Web Africa

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up Static Routing and prepaid Web Africa

Hello all,

I think I have finally cracked the issue that we all have after being capped (especially on IS accounts with the 28/27G local caps). I always wanted to be able to have mild international browsing available after my initial international cap on my IS account was reached (I used to use OpenBrowse in the past but I thought for the R40 I used to spend I was getting minimal value as the total transfer volume both up and down through the OpenBrowse proxies was never more than say 30mb per month - quite expensive if you do the maths). So as a typical chartered accountant I decided to investigate better options. Mr Beep, just a little shout out here - Your service is excellent and I think that the concept you brought to the market is exceptional, you are forever coming up with innovative and industry leading ideas but you know how us bean counters can be!!!

After recently breaking my Ma(ca)rconi WiFi router, I purchased a DLink DSL-G604T wireless router. Sure there are pluses and minuses on this router, but the best thing about it is that it has a tiny linux OS that makes it tick (Monta Vista Linux). So I figured surely I could set it up to make 2 pppoe connections which after some time I managed to do from the command line (the web interface is horrible and does not allow you to create 2 concurrent pppoe sessions on the same virtual circuit). Anyways to cut a long story short I managed to get the router to connect to both my IS account (which has 27G local access after my initial cap of 3Gb is breached) and my prepaid Web Africa account concurrently.