Anyone here work for Sage / Sage VIP?

Fireball

Hi folks

I'm considering resigning from my current company (I'm a developer) and going to work for Sage.
Trying to figure out if the shift is worth it. I would probably be joining their office in Menlyn, Pretoria.

Does anyone here work there / know someone who does?
What is it like?
Any benefits or perks?
How's management?
Do you get things such as flexi-time and work-from-home?
How about medical, pension, merit bonuses, 13th cheques, further studies, those sorts of things?
Just your general opinion of working for them in general, good or bad?

Please guys, I would REALLY appreciate any input.

Last edited:

Fireball

Thanks for the PMs, froot and others (don't want to mention your names in case the PMs were meant to be confidential)

Really informative :D

If anyone else would care to contribute, you're most welcome.

patrict

Yeah, I'd be curious to hear the general feedback too, if possible

AirWolf

Honorary Master
Can I send new feature / improvement suggestions to the Sage people on here? :D

Fireball

Sure thing!

Long story short, it sounds like an awesome place to work!

No numbers were mentioned in conversation for obvious reasons, but the CTC packages (which include group medical scheme - and depending on role - pension) seem to be very competitive. This may differ from offer to offer I'm guessing (I really don't know, so don't quote me on it)

It sounds like the people who work there are very happy and satisfied.
Some developers have been there for over a decade and are still happy. In a market where experienced developers are a hot commodity, I think that says something about a company that can keep talent for that long.

The management culture seems to be very friendly and relatively relaxed as far as big corporates go. Operates like a big business, feels like a small one.

Developers get very decently specced laptops and extra monitor/s to work on (this is a big +1 for me.)