GPSJane
Well-Known Member
So I actually can mount the shares just fine (Finder > Go > Connect to Server...)
BUT, before I reinstalled Windows on the machine that I am connecting to, I was able to have the machine permanently listed in the sidebar, even when I boot up. Mac OS would even pop up a notification when the connection to the server was lost (like I reboot the Windows machine) and give an option to close the connection or just ignore.
It is kind of like mounting a share to a drive letter in Windows. I have tried moving both the server and the share to the Login Items for the user in System Preferences but it doesn't work (won't drag there). Also this is not how I did it before. I wonder if the way I create the share in Windows could be related?
BUT, before I reinstalled Windows on the machine that I am connecting to, I was able to have the machine permanently listed in the sidebar, even when I boot up. Mac OS would even pop up a notification when the connection to the server was lost (like I reboot the Windows machine) and give an option to close the connection or just ignore.
It is kind of like mounting a share to a drive letter in Windows. I have tried moving both the server and the share to the Login Items for the user in System Preferences but it doesn't work (won't drag there). Also this is not how I did it before. I wonder if the way I create the share in Windows could be related?