Beware FNB phishing email

mohammedm

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2003
Messages
308
Reaction score
1
Location
Gold Coast, Australia.
I have received an email from what appears to be a legitimate address. asking me to confirm my internet baning details with FNB. Was suspicious as I do not bank with FNB.

I though I would investigate - move my mouse over the link that said https://www.fnb.co.za and the shortcut was to another address. Clicked on it and was taken to a site that looked identical to the FNB online banking website.

IE7 however, recognised the site as a potential PHISHING site.

Ifv you bank with FNB, be very careful. Always type your web address in manually, do not follow links.

mohammedm
PS: The false site actually warns you about phishing attacks!!
 
Copy of the PHISHING email

WARNING: This is a copy of the fraudulent email I received. Follow the links at your own risk.



Dear Customers,

At FNB, we take the security of our online banking users very seriously. We have become aware of renewed attempts to encourage customers to provide their personal details in response to 'phishing' emails, and so have decided to improve our online banking security to guarantee maximum fraud-free online banking for our online customers.

We have upgraded our security servers with the up-to-date software machineries which will ensure total risk-free online banking for all our online customers. Due to these upgrades, you might experience difficulties logging into your account at this time, and so we strongly advice that you update your account settings through https://www.fnb.co.za as soon as possible.

Please be advised that at FNB, we are committed to protecting the privacy of your personal information so you can safely access your accounts and use our website because your security is our greatest priority.



Sincerely,

Security and Privacy Department
FNB Bank

-----
The actual link to the PHISHING SITE is:
http://www.threeriversconventioncenter.com/media/fnb/FNB homepage.htm

You can check it out, for your own interest, but do not enter any info on that site.

-----
FNB's response to me:

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the Phishing email you receive and sending us a copy of the email.

The e-mail you received which appeared to be from FNB, was not legitimate. It was part of a fraudulent scam to illegally acquire your personal financial information.

FNB systems were not compromised in this scam.

We are aware of the Phishing scam and are in the process of shutting down the fraudulent website.

Please remember not to access websites through links in e-mails, rather type the site address directly into the browser address bar.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X