Bus Tracking

j4ck455

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
6,824
Anyone else find the Bus Tracking app on the Android Gautrain app doesn't work?

Even the online AFRIGIS is not showing the buses:

http://routetogautrain.afrigis.co.za/

There was a stable version that was working fairly well in January IIRC. Then came several new versions, the first of which claimed to use less data/bandwidth and that is where the bus tracking bugs started. I uninstalled the app since it usually didn't show any buses and when it did the tracking was off by several minutes.
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
Is the bus tracker on the android app working for anybody?

It stopped working for since last week.
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
Didn't they only can it for third parties? I am using their official app.
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
Probably. Wonder if they know about it.
 
Last edited:

koeksGHT

Dealer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
11,858
http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php/644046-Gautrain-app-developer-access-blocked

Developers of Gautrain applications are up in arms after AfriGIS disabled public, unencrypted access to the live Gautrain bus tracking feed.

The feed, or application programming interface (API), lets developers access the current positions of Gautrain buses and, for example, use the data to plot the buses on a map.

Grant Slater, who developed a small web app that uses the API, expressed his disappointment on Twitter and received a response from AfriGIS.

“The decision was made by the GMA in conjunction with AfriGIS,” AfriGIS said. “We are working with the Gautrain Management Agency (GMA) to try & establish a commercial model.”
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
Bus tracking is working again on my phone. I had to uninstall and re install the app to get the bus tracker working.
 
Top