C# developer entry level salary

IamSomeone

What's the "market related" salary for a C# software developer with no experience? I have a Computer Science degree.

Hamster

Resident Rodent
I suppose "whatever you can get to get your foot in the door" is not the answer you are looking for?

Steamy Tom

Expert Member
I suppose "whatever you can get to get your foot in the door" is not the answer you are looking for?
Sadly the entitlement is real these days, not saying OP is specifically but I see it so often.

To OP, location does matter, as does industry and company but imo you should expect around R15k

IamSomeone

Sadly the entitlement is real these days, not saying OP is specifically but I see it so often.

To OP, location does matter, as does industry and company but imo you should expect around R15k
R15k sounds reasonable. By location you mean CPT or JHB or another city? I hear there are differences based on cities and that CPT offers higher wages compared to other cities.

Steamy Tom

Expert Member
R15k sounds reasonable. By location you mean CPT or JHB or another city? I hear there are differences based on cities and that CPT offers higher wages compared to other cities.
Yes like city, frankly I was under the impression jhb offered more but I may very well be wrong, though I think depending where you stay CPT cost of living might be higher

Steamy Tom

Expert Member
If you already have a degree, why are you looking now midway through the year? Are you a unisa graduate?

IamSomeone

Experience is everything, well and attitude, but a foot in the door can mean great opportunity later, and it gives you a stepping stone
Thanks, indeed I have noticed that most junior posts require a minimum of 2 years experience.

Steamy Tom

Expert Member
Thanks, indeed I have noticed that most junior posts require a minimum of 2 years experience.