Capture card with loop (120hz)

Aubrey Smith

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
57
Morning Everyone.

I bought a capture card with loop( see attached file) and honestly i am a bit disappointed. I have a xbox series s, with can put upto 1080p @120hz wich was a total game changer for me especially with the graphics and Hz, I want to be able to still play @1080p@120hz but only capture 1080p@60hz but as soon as i set my resolution@120hz my obs is flickering like crazy @60hz.
So is there a work around that i stil can play at 120hz but capture at 60hz


Kind Regards
Aubrey
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210531_232532.jpg
    IMG_20210531_232532.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 10

Aubrey Smith

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
57
Morning Everyone.

I bought a capture card with loop( see attached file) and honestly i am a bit disappointed. I have a xbox series s, with can put upto 1080p @120hz wich was a total game changer for me especially with the graphics and Hz, I want to be able to still play @1080p@120hz but only capture 1080p@60hz but as soon as i set my resolution@120hz my obs is flickering like crazy @60hz.
So is there a work around that i stil can play at 120hz but capture at 60hz


Kind Regards
Aubrey
Just to let everyone know that my laptop cant even output 60hz (barely can) but its hard is there not some stepdown thing i can use even like a splitter that will take out my 120hz to my monitor and 60 hz to the capture card,
 

Pineapple Smurf

Pineapple Beer Connoisseur
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
39,694
VCR VHS Montage on Make a GIF
 

FaSMaN

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
1,848
Morning Everyone.

I bought a capture card with loop( see attached file) and honestly i am a bit disappointed. I have a xbox series s, with can put upto 1080p @120hz wich was a total game changer for me especially with the graphics and Hz, I want to be able to still play @1080p@120hz but only capture 1080p@60hz but as soon as i set my resolution@120hz my obs is flickering like crazy @60hz.
So is there a work around that i stil can play at 120hz but capture at 60hz


Kind Regards
Aubrey

Your going to struggle to find any capture cards that can pass trough 1080p120 and record at 1080p60, the cheap ones definitely cant, you will have to go the Elgato 4K60 Pro route, its one of the few that officially supports the hdmi 2.1 standard that's required.

My best suggestion is just use 60fps thats what most streamers use.
 

Aubrey Smith

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
57
Your going to struggle to find any capture cards that can pass trough 1080p120 and record at 1080p60, the cheap ones definitely cant, you will have to go the Elgato 4K60 Pro route, its one of the few that officially supports the hdmi 2.1 standard that's required.

My best suggestion is just use 60fps thats what most streamers use.
So there is no work around it, damm i thought there might be some work around it even a cable that splits the feed and one that sends my original 1080p@120hz and the other 1080p@60hz to my capture device and then to my laptop, because the elagro is very expensive
 

Messugga

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
12,042
So there is no work around it, damm i thought there might be some work around it even a cable that splits the feed and one that sends my original 1080p@120hz and the other 1080p@60hz to my capture device and then to my laptop, because the elagro is very expensive
The Elgato is the workaround. You're asking for a data feed to be processed and changed significantly.
 

FaSMaN

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
1,848
So there is no work around it, damm i thought there might be some work around it even a cable that splits the feed and one that sends my original 1080p@120hz and the other 1080p@60hz to my capture device and then to my laptop, because the elagro is very expensive

Not that I know of, the problem is that you cant simply split the signal, and send out two different signals, its all digital, so it will have to decode the 1080p120 and re-encode it to 1080p60 then multiplex for hdmi, when you can simply get a more capable capture card and just capture it at 120 :)
 
Last edited:

Aubrey Smith

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
57
Not that I know of, the problem is that you cant simply split the signal, and send out two different signals, its all digital, so it will have to decode the 1080p120 and re-encode it to 1080p60 then multiplex for hdmi, when you can simply get a more capable capture card and just capture it at 120 :)
Totally have a valid point i dont know why i am making such a big issue of it, its just my lapton cant run higher than 60 fps and i thought i would bargain from it, but for now i will just try and get the more capable capture card
 

agentrfr

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
5,068
HDMI is a funny protocol. You cant drop every second frame and just use the rest. There is an element of very basic motion encoding in it, which is lossess, but does require previous frames before an I frame is declared
What is the best place to buyt the elganto
amazon US or amazon UK. With shipping and taxes sometimes the UK is cheaper, sometimes the US is cheaper
 

agentrfr

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
5,068
What encoder are you using on OBS? If you set your workspace to 60 fps you should be able to encode x264/AVC as CRF set to 18 relatively easily. Otherwise if you have an nvidea chipset 1060 or newer, you can nvenc with constant QP
 

agentrfr

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
5,068
^^ looks like you'll need to get an Elgato 4K60 Pro to injest the 120Hz signal
 

Aubrey Smith

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
57
^^ looks like you'll need to get an Elgato 4K60 Pro to injest the 120Hz signal
Damm man i will check into the encoding paet later on today, but i honestly thought there can be a way or device that can just cut the frames, or just make it readable but earlier today i went ons the xbox set it to 1080p 120hz and it started going crazy, i set the capture device frames lower, and when i cam to 24 frames the video stabilized but not on 1080p on 480 p , and i though that was very very interesting
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
29,756

But depending on how much you record, if your PC cannot handle HEVC encode at the same time:

Do look at e.g. UK option or other ones, I am just linking stuff that is popular on Amazon (if Amazon, check Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de (change it to English at the bottom of the page)). You will need to add to basket and do the full checkout before knowing the final price.

Usually your bank offers a better rate than Amazon, so check before you say pay in rand instead, e.g. right now Amazon is doing R17.22/EUR, FNB is doing R17.1989 (bought something this morning).
 

FaSMaN

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
1,848

But depending on how much you record, if your PC cannot handle HEVC encode at the same time:

Do look at e.g. UK option or other ones, I am just linking stuff that is popular on Amazon (if Amazon, check Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de (change it to English at the bottom of the page)). You will need to add to basket and do the full checkout before knowing the final price.

Usually your bank offers a better rate than Amazon, so check before you say pay in rand instead, e.g. right now Amazon is doing R17.22/EUR, FNB is doing R17.1989 (bought something this morning).

The Elgato HD60 S+ does not support 120hz Passthrough like the op wants :(

Supported modes: https://help.elgato.com/hc/en-us/ar...ato-Game-Capture-HD60-S-Supported-Resolutions

Only the Elgato 4K60 Pro supports 1080p120 Passthrough/capture: https://help.elgato.com/hc/en-us/ar...igh-Refresh-Rate#h_01F4W01H4B81EPFJE9QEZWNMZS
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
29,756
The Elgato HD60 S+ does not support 120hz Passthrough like the op wants :(

Supported modes: https://help.elgato.com/hc/en-us/ar...ato-Game-Capture-HD60-S-Supported-Resolutions

Only the Elgato 4K60 Pro supports 1080p120 Passthrough/capture: https://help.elgato.com/hc/en-us/ar...igh-Refresh-Rate#h_01F4W01H4B81EPFJE9QEZWNMZS
Ah, I read the description bit that said:
Play your high-fidelity console games in original format thanks to 4K60 HDR10 zero-lag pass-through
For the HD60 S+, 1440p144 is 12.7 vs 4k60 is 12Gbps bandwidth, both fall in about the same spec, so that description is misleading.

EDIT:
The picture itself:
1622541868074.png
 
Top