Desktop PC Purchase Advice

SpoonTech

Hi All, I am looking at building a new Desktop PC. I apologise for not using the PC build thread. I felt that this post was of a substantial enough nature not to add it to page 43 of the PC build thread, and its outcomes may be useful to those in the market for a new Desktop.

A bit of info about my use:
  • I do not game much, although there hasn't really been the option as I have been using Mac OS X and Mint for the last two years. I do not plan to game much, so top end gaming performance is not required.
  • I will be using the computer for graphics intensive work which requires a lot of RAM, for Adobe Premiere Pro, Photoshop etc. CUDA support for rendering is an absolute must
  • I am looking for excellent responsiveness in general use system wide.
  • I will run windows 8 on the machine, with a virtualized Ubuntu/Linux Mint running. The virtual machine will be allocated 4GB of RAM, and will need to run almost all the time without slowing down the system too much. (For example, I should be able to edit videos while the VM is running a minimal processing load.
  • I will be running some CPU intensive serial and parallel C++ code for machine learning, image processing, and object detection on a fairly regular basis.
  • I am a hoarder of open browser tabs and apps. I keep tabs I am currently using open, sometimes for up to 3 days. For example, at the moment I am running one chrome window with 26 tab, while running Word, Excel, Acrobat Reader with 4 PDF's, Terminal, iTunes, Activity Monitor, Safari and Photoshop, amongst one or two other things.
  • I have not overclocked a system in five years, and do not plan on it, unless there is the option I may overclock it to get more speed for image processing software.
  • I will be using 2 x 24" Samsung Monitors which have DVI and HDMI inputs, both should be running at 1920 x 1080 without a problem for normal tasks. For things like gaming, one monitor is fine.