Do I need synchronous fibre?

Neville

2 person family. We watch Netflix and Youtube most nights. I don't play online games but will download games and patches from the Xbox store. I am a software developer so sometimes work from home, connecting to our office VPN and often having multiple RDP sessions open, connecting to databases etc. I'd also often Skype or Slack and have live screen sharing chats with other developers.

As typically something like a 20/2 line is fairly cheaper than a 20/20 line - do I really need the fast upload speeds? Or is that more for realtime gaming?

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
At 2Mbps upload the actual upload speed is around 210KB/s vs 20Mbps upload and an actual upload speed of 2.1MB/s.

It depends on what you do really. If you upload videos, photos and other content to the cloud or to a remote server 2Mbps might be a bit slow. Remember that uploading at max speed will also slow down the download speed a bit.

Why not try the 20/2 first and if you notice problems just upgrade to the 20/20.

Neville

The problem is that the cheaper 20/2 options is at one ISP and the 20/20 at another. The ISP with 20/20 does not offer 20/2 and the ISP with 20/2 would be a lot more expensive if I then upgraded to their 20/20 line.

My main concern for upload speed is my screen sharing chat/coding sessions - how much upload speed does it require to a have a nice smooth screen sharing chat session..?

xxxphantomslayerxxx

2mbps upload won't work amazingly for live screen sharing with any sort of noticeable quality and bitrate. It's also too slow to enable quick database uploads for bigger files (like coding libraries for archiving etc) in the case of remote access. If you can afford the 20/20, I would recommend just going for that. I am in a similar situation to you in terms of use case and I typically pull 6-12mbps on the upload depending on what exactly I am doing.

Skankhunt

Expert Member