Elastix INBOUND DTMF not working on Neotel SIP

Xaeyl

Hi Guys,

I am very new to Elastix, and Linux in general, our company has replaced a PBX rental system for an Elastix server which we put together ourselves to save the monthly cost of the old system.

We have the following setup

Neotel Sip 20ch directly connected to the Elastix system on Eth2. Lan is on Eth0 and Another Sip trunk to a call center system on Eth1.

Both Neotel and Call Center trunks are using G729 codec, and bidirectional calls are working fine, except the DTMF.

The call center system has an IVR which needs DTMF functioning, currently I am bypassing this with a direct xfer to switchboard and other hunt groups. Will get to this in a bit.

From all my research on this subject I have tried all the relevant suggestions to my setup but none are working very well so I am definitely missing something.

[Outbound Calls]

The Neotel Sip trunk peer is configured for "DTMF Mode = auto" currently(I know what you are thinking, but wait there's more) and is using G729 codec. The handset is a grandstream GXP1625 which is also set for G729 and DTMF mode RFC2833.
In this configuration I can dial 10217 from the handset and DTMF is working outbound, however I get the following error from the CLI: dsp.c:1507 ast_dsp_process: Inband DTMF is not supported on codec g729. Use RFC2833

If I change the peer settings from AUTO to RFC2833, then outbound DTMF stops functioning but the error above does not appear.

[Inbound Calls]

I have no IVR setup on Elastix, just routes that pass the incoming calls to the call center system based on certain DDI's

eg: incoming call to 011 123 4567 is sent to destination (call center trunk), the call center trunk is also configured for "DTMFmode = auto", and has been tested with RFC2833 but the only successful DTMF call we could achieve was between Elastix and the call center system using either auto or rfc2833 in the peer setting.