Email from Telkom

Robone

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
564
Reaction score
6
Location
Jhb
Does anyone know what this is about?

Valued subscriber,

It came to our attention that a few of our customers are receiving
fraudulent emails. This type of email is called "phishing" and it usually
goes hand-in-hand with emails linking customers to fake websites, claiming
to be from a major company. These fraudsters use different methods of
getting customers to submit their personal information. Fraudsters utilize
the given personal information to access individual accounts, as well as
selling the information to identify theft rings. Following is an example
of such an email:

Dear Valued Member,

According to our site policy you will have to confirm your account by the
following link or else your account will be suspended within 24 hours for
security reasons.

http://www.telkomsa.net/[email protected]

Thank you for your attention to this question. We apologize for any
inconvenience.

Sincerely,Telkom Security Department Assistant.

Okay I appologise...in my usual haste I see how easily it is to misread this thing...well for some that is :)
 
Last edited:
gljackson said:
Maybe I'm missing something here.
Was www.telkomsa.net used within the "phishing" email?
Is www.telkomsa.net a fake site?

Funny thing is that even if it is a fake site, I think its information is far more helpfull than the www.telkom.co.za website. :)
Phishing attacks almost always present a description of a url that looks like a site you know, but when you actually look at the url, you realize that it is in fact some webspace somewhere where phishers are attempting to operate from...
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X