Getting a software developer job with a local technical college qualification

KingAuthor

My question may be vague, but here it goes.

How possible is it to get a job as a software developer job when you only have a short course qualification from a local technical college?

I am considering starting a career in software development but I do not have the funds, nor at least the time to go to a university or a private institution to get a Bsc. I know a bit of C++, HTML and CSS. I am not an expert in C++ as I am still learning algorithms and data structures. I spent almost the whole day learning, trying to improve my skills, then I will try to learn Java or C# after being competent enough (maybe a year from now) in C++

Should I complete those short courses from accredited colleges or should I continue to learn on my own and enter the market as a self-taught developer? Any advice on how to get into the industry the "cheaper" way.

cguy

Expert Member
UNISA and a BSc is the best way to go if you are on a budget.

Being self-taught can be ok, but you really have to teach yourself very well. Most self-taught people don’t have a way to measure this at the start of their career. Also, there’s a lot of not knowing what you don’t know to get over.

That said, I know of a few self taught developers who have done exceptionally well for themselves, but they truly are exceptional.

flippakitten

Expert Member
As cguy said, UNISA is the best way to go. A Degree + experience will trump experience + certificates.

However you did mention time and funding constraints, your time only get's less as you get older, do it now.
I'm not really sure your current situation, like age, do you have children etc... So I am going to take your question at face value.