Google account on phone with security.

upup

Executive Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
9,984
Reaction score
1,729
Location
currently offline
I gave my phone, Samsung A5 2017 model to a friend. I did factory reset it. When I started the phone after the factory reset, it first want my [previous] email and password before it took the new email. I did a factory reset on a Samsung J1 as well, and that one just took the new email. The A5 was on Android 9 , I think. So, seems if you want to sell it, to a stranger or shop, they will need your Google login before the new person can create his account.
 
How Google Account Verification & FRP Works

Google Account Verification is a simple, but effective method of security. It requires that when you set up a new device, you have to enter your Google account and verify that you’re the owner of that account by clicking through a link in an email. Easy enough.

What most people don’t realize is that by default when you set up your Android device with a Google account, the Factory Reset Protection feature is enabled by default. It prevents someone from accessing the device (and therefore any data on the device) after a factory data reset unless the user knows the last Google username and password that was used to set up the device. So, if you lose your phone or it’s stolen, the person who ends up with it can’t access the device unless they have your login credentials.
 
How Google Account Verification & FRP Works

Google Account Verification is a simple, but effective method of security. It requires that when you set up a new device, you have to enter your Google account and verify that you’re the owner of that account by clicking through a link in an email. Easy enough.

What most people don’t realize is that by default when you set up your Android device with a Google account, the Factory Reset Protection feature is enabled by default. It prevents someone from accessing the device (and therefore any data on the device) after a factory data reset unless the user knows the last Google username and password that was used to set up the device. So, if you lose your phone or it’s stolen, the person who ends up with it can’t access the device unless they have your login credentials.
It's actually a good feature, and anyone who's buying it from you should be able to have you reset it/allow access.
 
Does flashing the phone with an image remove this feature?
 
Last edited:
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X