Hallmark Postcard Attachment Virus Alert

indyninja

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
I received a message recently from a friend of mine that works closely with Norton and Microsoft and this is a summary of what it was about.

This was checked with Norton Anti-Virus, and they are gearing up for this virus!

You should be alert during the next few days. Do not open any message with an attachment
entitled POSTCARD FROM HALLMARK, regardless of who sent it to you. It is a virus which opens A POSTCARD IMAGE, which 'burns' the whole C hard drive of your computer.

This virus will be received from someone who has your e-mail address in his/her contact list. If you receive an email entitled "POSTCARD," even though it was sent to you by a friend, do not open it! Shut down your computer immediately. This is the worst virus announced by CNN.

It has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever. This virus was discovered by McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind of Virus. This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital information is kept.


I am not 100% sure if this is true or if its just some rumor but I guess being safe rather than sorry is the best way to approach something like this. I know it doesn't seem plausible to be able kill a hard drive like this.

Anyone else hear about this?
 
even though it was sent to you by a friend, do not open it! Shut down your computer immediately. This is the worst virus announced by CNN.

this makes it sound like a hoax - I would say as always just use discretion when opening attachments.
 
I received a message recently from a friend of mine that works closely with Norton and Microsoft and this is a summary of what it was about.
I am not 100% sure if this is true or if its just some rumor but I guess being safe rather than sorry is the best way to approach something like this. I know it doesn't seem plausible to be able kill a hard drive like this.
Anyone else hear about this?

It's a hoax (a VERY old hoax) and you would do us all a favour to Google for Sites like these before you post this crap here and waste our time...
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/postcard.asp
http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/bl_postcard_virus.htm
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/postcard-virus-hoax.shtml
 
Yeah right. Too many contradictions in that email.

Wonder who started this though. Said person need a Gibbs PK.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X