Help! Please I cant use my phone internationally

DebraB

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
4
#1
Please can anyone help me, I've just arrived in Dubai and need my SA number to be fully operational. The Mobile is not operational at all. I cant make calls, receive calls and the data is only available when connected to Wifi. I am so frustrated. The data roaming is on. I really need help with this and would appreciate any suggestions on what could be wrong
 

Spizz

Goat Botherer
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
21,889
#2
Please can anyone help me, I've just arrived in Dubai and need my SA number to be fully operational. The Mobile is not operational at all. I cant make calls, receive calls and the data is only available when connected to Wifi. I am so frustrated. The data roaming is on. I really need help with this and would appreciate any suggestions on what could be wrong
I don’t know what network you are with or if you are contract or payg, but I’m with Vodacom on a contract and I’m sure I had to contact them and ask for roaming to be enabled.

Get a local sim or borrow a phone and call them to activate. Emailing will be a waste of time I reckon.
 

MightyQuin

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
11,266
#3
I don’t know what network you are with or if you are contract or payg, but I’m with Vodacom on a contract and I’m sure I had to contact them and ask for INTERNATIONAL roaming to be enabled.

Get a local sim or borrow a phone and call them to activate. Emailing will be a waste of time I reckon.
FIFY
 

genetic

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
26,511
#4
Should have checked you had roaming on before you left - but your best bet is to phone Vodacom from Dubai and get them to enable it. Alternatively you may be able to change it online via the Vodacom portal if you are registered.
 

FlashSA

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,663
#5
Please can anyone help me, I've just arrived in Dubai and need my SA number to be fully operational. The Mobile is not operational at all. I cant make calls, receive calls and the data is only available when connected to Wifi. I am so frustrated. The data roaming is on. I really need help with this and would appreciate any suggestions on what could be wrong
You posted in the MTN sub forum so I assume that is the network the sim is on. Send an email to 808@mtn.co.za requesting roaming to be activated. Unless you are an MTN business client like myself, then it is 809@mtn.co.za
 

AstroTurf

Lucky Shot
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
26,589
#6
Please can anyone help me, I've just arrived in Dubai and need my SA number to be fully operational. The Mobile is not operational at all. I cant make calls, receive calls and the data is only available when connected to Wifi. I am so frustrated. The data roaming is on. I really need help with this and would appreciate any suggestions on what could be wrong
be careful with data roaming, in fact do not do it.
You are going to have a R20k+ phone bill to get back to...
 
Top