How to delete your Facebook account

Jan

Drifting in the black
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
4,700
How to delete your Facebook account

Reports about third parties harvesting Facebook user profile data have led to a fresh wave of people deleting their Facebook accounts.

Facebook offers two options to disconnect from the platform: deactivation and deletion.

When you deactivate your account, users can’t see your timeline or search for you. None of your data is deleted, and you can reactivate your account at any time.

If you delete your account, it’s gone forever.

Facebook said it may take up to 90 days to remove data stored in its backup systems, but the data is not accessible to it during this time.

Whether you deactivate or delete your account, though, certain information isn’t stored in your account and may remain visible to others - such as messages you’ve sent.
 
Top