IT Project Manager career advice please

Brias LP

I will appreciate some advice. I am a Project Manager with a PMP and has worked in the utility sector for the past 7 years.
I am considering an industry / sector change based on 4IR and imminent changes. I also would like to have exposure to the ICT environment. What certification would be most attractive to potential employers and will help to avoid a big salary reduction?
Thank you

GhostSixFour

Mafia Addict
I will appreciate some advice. I am a Project Manager with a PMP and has worked in the utility sector for the past 7 years.
I am considering an industry / sector change based on 4IR and imminent changes. I also would like to have exposure to the ICT environment. What certification would be most attractive to potential employers and will help to avoid a big salary reduction?
Thank you
If you already have PMP then get PMI-ACP.

R13...

Honorary Master
Yeah Agile is the thing these days especially for 4IR where most of the solutions are still nascent.

Brias LP

If you already have PMP then get PMI-ACP.
Thank you for the reply. I see on the PMI website that there is a requirement to comply with before taking the exam.

"1,500 hours working on agile project teams or with agile methodologies"

I am not aligned here.

Same old catch 22. You need experience to get part of the action but with no experience you cannot get in to get experience. It works out to about 9 months of full time work to get the min experience.

Steamy Tom

Expert Member
Thank you for the reply. I see on the PMI website that there is a requirement to comply with before taking the exam.

"1,500 hours working on agile project teams or with agile methodologies"

I am not aligned here.

Same old catch 22. You need experience to get part of the action but with no experience you cannot get in to get experience. It works out to about 9 months of full time work to get the min experience.