jcbroadband spam

inso

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
/\/ÂŻÂŻÂŻÂŻÂŻ\/\
Have any of you guys also started receiving spam from jcbroadband dot com about their current specials? The most recent one has been about their 1GB capped ADSL and "site builder" options, but if you just google for them, you'll see they've been spamming things like the freebsd lists as well recently.

The reason I'm asking is that I've received this on a spamtrap address, as well as a friend of mine. I'm just wondering whether some "community input" would be needed to get them to correct their ways. They seem to be a pseudo-south african company (http://www.jcbroadband.com/contact.htm). I've already managed to get the supposed country manager's (Andrew Kirkland) cell number, in case anyone else needs to be in touch with him to express your concern.
 
i also got an email from them today about competition for a adsl router and 3 months access. Never even heard of them before today so its highly unlikely that i gave them my email address. Its definitely spam.
 
I got the same message, on 3 different accounts. One corporate mail account and 2 personal. bastard spammers.
 
Bastard spammers!

Domain Name.......... jcbroadband.com
Creation Date........ 2006-02-23
Registration Date.... 2006-02-23
Expiry Date.......... 2007-02-23
Organisation Name.... Jabulani Dhliwayo
Organisation Address. 115 Fieldview Drive
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Painted Post
Organisation Address. 14870
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Jabulani Dhliwayo
Admin Address........ 115 Fieldview Drive
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Painted Post
Admin Address........ 14870
Admin Address........ NY
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... [email protected]
Admin Phone.......... +1.6079620919
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... [email protected]
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
***********************************
JC Broadband Services
P.O. Box 4623
Halfway House, 1685
Tel: 011-695-4814
Fax: 011-695-4811

Andrew Kirkland, Country Manager
[email protected]
[email protected]
***********************************
 
Bloody Nepad behind this? Check out Jabulani Dhliwayo:

http://www.nepadcouncil.org/index.html?/docs/contacts.html

At the same addy as jcbroadband.com is alignafrica.com ( dns by ICL!!!):

Registrant:
JC BROADBAND SERVICES
P.O BOX 4623
HALFWAY HOUSE
Johannesburg, Gauteng 1685
ZA

Domain Name: ALIGNAFRICA.COM

Administrative Contact:
JC BROADBAND SERVICES [email protected]
P.O BOX 4623
HALFWAY HOUSE
Johannesburg, Gauteng 1685
ZA
+27116954814 fax: +27116954814

Technical Contact:
Fujitsu Services Core (Pty) Ltd [email protected]
PO Box 3467
Rivonia, South Africa 2128
ZA
+27-11-233-5911 fax: +27-11-233-5036

Record expires on 07-Jan-2007.
Record created on 07-Jan-2003.
Database last updated on 21-Jul-2006 09:06:22 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

DNS.ICL-ZA.COM 163.203.222.249
DNS2.ICL-ZA.COM 163.203.222.246

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited
 
I also got that spam message a few days ago. Just deleted it. I am definatly not even going to look at their products just because they sent a spam message.
 
inso said:
The reason I'm asking is that I've received this on a spamtrap address, as well as a friend of mine. I'm just wondering whether some "community input" would be needed to get them to correct their ways. They seem to be a pseudo-south african company (http://www.jcbroadband.com/contact.htm). I've already managed to get the supposed country manager's (Andrew Kirkland) cell number, in case anyone else needs to be in touch with him to express your concern.
There is actually quite a lot that you can do if it is a South African company. According to the ECT Act (http://www.acts.co.za/ect_act/) Section 45 (1), the company that SPAMs you is required by law to:

1) Any person who sends unsolicited commercial communications to consumers, must provide the consumer

a) with the option to cancel his or her subscription to the mailing list of that person; and

b) with the identifying particulars of the source from which that person obtained the consumer's personal information, on request of the consumer.
(http://www.acts.co.za/ect_act/45_unsol.htm for more info)

If someone is in breach they are "liable to a fine or imprisonment for a period not exceeding 12 months".

You should formally request the information in (a) and (b) above and if they don't provide it, you can lay a charge.
 
Response to Complaint

Well I got a fairly decent response when I complained. I sent:

To: [email protected]
Subject: Unsolicited Emails - Spam

I received the email quoted below from your company today.

In terms of Section 45 of the Electronic Transactions and Communications (ECT) Act, 25 of 2002, would you kindly:

1. Inform me whether the included unsubscribe link will actually work, or will it merely confirm the active status of my email address to your outsourced spammer?
2. Furnish me with the source from which you obtained my email address and any other personal details.
3. Undertake to never send me any more unsolicited commercial communications.

Thank you.

The man replied:

Dear Peter

I hope you are well.
I understand where you are coming from and share your concerns. The issue of spam is rather large to say the least. In my experience, being in the IT industry 13 years now, I have heard many interpretations of what spam really is. JC Broadband is company that has recently joined the world of Internet Service Providers offering some fantastic connectivity opportunities for the SMME and Home user. We of all people understand all too well what the meaning of spam is. These are the guidelines JC Broadband attempts to follow in all email communications:

1. Consumers may not be misled by using non-relevant subject lines, ambiguous subject lines, etc.
2. Consumer may not be prevented from automatically removing themselves from a list
3. Email must be sent from a valid, functioning email address
4. Email must include a valid, functioning reply-to address
5. Email must include an adequate and functioning "opt-out" or unsubscribe" option
6. Each email must include the full physical contact information of the sender
7. Email may not use or contain invalid or forged headers
8. Email may not use or contain invalid or non-existent domain names
9. Email may not employ any technique to otherwise misrepresent, hide or obscure any information in identifying the point of origin or the transmission path
10. Email may not use other means of deceptive addressing
11. Email may not use a third party's internet domain name, or be relayed from or through a third party's equipment, without permission of the third party.
12. Consumers have the right to request the origin of where the sender obtained the consumers details and the sender is obligated to supply these details without hesitation.

If my email to you did not conform to any of these guidelines then I extend my sincerest apologies to you. The email was intended to give you a heads up on what is new in the electronic communications world. We felt that you should know that there are more effective ways to communicate electronically today.

To answer your questions:

1. The unsubscribe link will send an email requesting that you be unsubscribed from this mailing list. We then manually remove you from the database, although accidents do happen and gremlins do creep into the system now and then, however we will do our best to ensure that you are not sent mail from us again.
2. JC Broadband has purchased a database from www.0-0.com DataNetwork which is a business directory.
3. As mentioned we will remove you from the database.

If we offended you, we certainly did not intend to do so. We have taken the liberty of unsubscribing you from our mail list and we wish you all the very best for the future.

Have a fantastic day.

All the best

Andrew Kirkland
Country Manager
 
In spite of the helpful response, another spam from this bunch hit me today. :mad:

If they can't resolve it I think I will lay a charge in terms of the ECT Act:

45(4) Any person who sends unsolicited commercial communications to a person who has advised the sender that such communications are unwelcome, is guilty of an offence and liable, on conviction, to the penalties prescribed in section 89(1).

89(1) A person convicted of an offence referred to in sections 37(3), 40(2), 58(2), 80(5), 82(2) or 86(1), (2) or (3) is liable to a fine or imprisonment for a period not exceeding 12 months.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X