Latest SMTP bug... (and excuse)

NoRulez

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
553
Reaction score
1
Location
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort (ex Zambian)
Telkom e-mail ([email protected]) address blacklisted for bogus reasons.
After getting errors sending e-mail, tried changing smtp server from saix to telkomsa to dsl.telkomsa - no joy - same error message:
The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was rejected by the server. The rejected e-mail address was '[email protected]'. Subject 'Test', Account: 'Personal Name', Server: 'smtp.saix.net', Protocol: SMTP, Server Response: '554 5.7.1 <[email protected]>: Sender address rejected: AOL TOS Ref:S180', Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 554, Error Number: 0x800CCC79
According to this it seems the TOS (terms of service) has been breached, which is utter bullsh1t, as the same people have been receiving mail from the same address for almost 10 years without problems.
Upon querying Telscum tech support, here's the answer:
The address was blocked from relaying through our and SAIX's mail servers due to a SPAM complaint by AOL. The user of the address must immediately cease any bulk messaging. If not known by the user, there computer may be infected by a mass mailing worm or virus. Kindly instruct the user to perform a full scan for any malware on their machine and advise them to keep their security software as up to date as possible.

Once confirmation of the above has been received, we will advise SAIX to remove the block to [email protected]
To which the publishable :D part of my reply was:
The existence of any malware/spyware/worms/viruses can be ruled out totally, as this system is running behind a hardware firewall with 100% up to date anti-virus solutions.
AOL should check their spam trap on their servers before just blaming users.
... and this is what I got back:
Unfortunately these are the terms of service SAIX has with AOL and SAIX has the right to deny any user access to their network without notification if any service conditions have been abused.

We will advise SAIX accordingly to clear the block from the address as soon as possible. Kindly refer to FQxxxxx for any update regarding the query logged with SAIX.
Anyone experienced similar **** with these @ssholes?
 
No, usally i cant get them to pick up the phone or even respond to an email.

al least your getting ****. Usually I get Squat
 
Who can I contact about this? I have two accounts at the moment that is block. They're used by my mother, and receive and send VERY little traffic. Is there anyone I can contact to try and resolve this?
 
You just posted in a thread from November 2007 -- 3 and a half years ago :)
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X