Learning Web Development in Cape Town

Hi there folks

I am currently studying an llb law through Unisa, which is going quite well. I will soon have the opportunity to move to Eastern Europe (not sure where yet), and have hit a wall in realizing that at nearly 23 I still have no practical skills to speak of.

The reason for this is that I would like to have only a simple skill which I can use to earn a very basic living and register a business in whichever country I will be in. Unfortunately an SA law degree is of no real use here. After some critical thought, the closest thing I have to a skill is being somewhat "good with computers" for what it's worth.

Therefore, I figured that creating very simple websites for small businesses and asking a fee is my best bet at ever earning my own bread. (that is, outside of South Africa)

I have played around with intro to programming before, such as java, html, and have enjoyed it and managed to understand these concepts very easily, I do feel naturally comfortable with grasping them.

Are there any courses in Cape Town where I can be taught all the skills necessary to create basic websites, from start to finish?
Does my plan sound viable at all?

DarkDragon

Have a look at the following places:

Codecadamy
Freecodecamp
Udemy - The complete web development bootcamp by Colt Steele

Good luck.

ronald911

Expert Member
Hi there folks

I am currently studying an llb law through Unisa, which is going quite well. I will soon have the opportunity to move to Eastern Europe (not sure where yet), and have hit a wall in realizing that at nearly 23 I still have no practical skills to speak of.