Looking to open FNB share account

zdesignzi9250

Hey guys , I'm currently a student at uni and have about 2-3k to invest but I don't know where to start. Some of my requirements are :

-The bank/company must manage my portfolio
- no interest must be earned
- low monthly account fees
- tax free if possible

Would really appreciate some feedback

TofuMofu

Honorary Master
Hey guys , I'm currently a student at uni and have about 2-3k to invest but I don't know where to start. Some of my requirements are :

- tax free if possible

Why no interest? That's not investing, that's saving.

InTheWild

- tax free if possible

Go look at the EasyEquities thread. Prob a good option for you and its cheap. Just stay with ETF's, even just a mix of local top 40 (or new Coreshares top 50 ETF) ETF and one of the DBX tracker for offshore. They have tax free option as well.

Pitbull

Verboten
That's correct

I only know this as I dealt with a client the other day that has FNB Islamic Banking. They settle on a debt owed similar to interest but it's worked in as something called Profit. So let's say interest owed on a loan is calculated at 15%. They add the 15% on top of the principal debt and call it Profit. But this is on a loan owed to the bank. I don't know how they deal with "Profit" in the client's favour.

SauRoNZA

Honorary Master
Well if no interest is to be earned then there is no portfolio to be managed.

So what would be the point of buying any shares then? Just stick it in a regular non-interest bank account.

Also how would you need to pay Tax if you made no interest?

Pitbull

Verboten
But technically those share accounts shouldn't have interest, correct?

Nope, you should be getting profits/losses based on your investment. And then you also get dividends paid on shares.
None of those are interest no.

Pitbull

Verboten
Well if no interest is to be earned then there is no portfolio to be managed.