Makro website

murray654

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
627
I was looking for a price for something and tried makro.co.za -> the site cannot be reached. Tried https and it works. Why would they not be redirecting to the secure site? Same thing on my phone.
 

saor

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
28,084
makro.co.za works in my regular browser because it (in the background) reverts to the https version that I've probably visited previously / got cached.

makro.co.za in another browser that I never use doesn't load.
 

murray654

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
627
Why do we need a thread for this...
Thanks for the bump - got a reply from someone helpful

And thanks to whoever moved the thread: I am never 100% sure where I am supposed to post... So probably did not post in the right sub-forum (and have also criticised people for posting in the wrong place LOL)
 
Last edited:

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
82,518
I was looking for a price for something and tried makro.co.za -> the site cannot be reached. Tried https and it works. Why would they not be redirecting to the secure site? Same thing on my phone.
Maybe you should ask them?

BTW: http://www.makro.co.za redirects. Point that out when you get in touch with them ;)
 

shadow_man

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5,473
Looks like builders.co.za is now following Makro's bad config (as both are Massmart brands - game.co.za however isn't).

I've escalated to higher ups at Builders and Massmart - let's see if I get a response...

TL;DR

non www doesn't work (builders.co.za / http://builders.co.za / https://builders.co.za)
www works (www.builders.co.za / http://www.builders.co.za / https://www.builders.co.za)

^ same for makro.co.za

Bit stupid as this will cost Massmart business - as non tech folks will just go over to a competitor, and order there.
 

shadow_man

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5,473
I got a reply from the CEO of Massmart (or his assistant) - they're going to fix the issue. Nice that he took the time to acknowledge / action a fix.

--

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. This fault apparently arose due to Cloudfront update that was performed recently and our tech teams are working to get this fixed. Again, thanks for calling it out – it is much appreciated.

Best Regards,
Mitch

Mitch Slape
Chief Executive Officer

--
 

shadow_man

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5,473

RedViking

Nord of the South
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
40,254
New error now - same for Builders / Makro:

https://builders.co.za --> wrong SSL cert (*.easyredirengine.com) --> site doesn't load
https://mako.co.za --> wrong SSL cert (*.easyredirengine.com) --> site doesn't load

While:

http://builders.co.za --> redirects to https://www.builders.co.za fine
https://makro.co.za--> redirects to https://www.makro.co.za fine

You would think that that they'd get this right the second time round, but no....

View attachment 1008834


Well, the CEO will be getting another mail from you.
 
Top