Manipulating CSV data

ld13

Honorary Master
Our business software kicks out .CSV data that we (read: I) then manually manipulate and prime in the format that can be imported into our accounting software. This is repetitive work and I would like to find out if there is a better way of doing this, short of making an autohotkey/macro script?

First I compare the previous data set with the latest one to only work with the new data lines. Will probably look for a diff tool of sorts.
Then I manipulate the remaining data into the order required, e.g. column B,A,Z,E and dump the remaining data.

Any tips?

IOPS

R Studio.

Edit: After reading your post properly, macros might be the easiest.

prOd

Expert Member
Any programming experience? I'd probably go the Python route, should be easy enough even for a total beginner.

gfmalan

Expert Member
Python,

Followed this and bought the training (Udemy) when I started.

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
+1 to Python. I even used to do basic csv manipulation in bash scripts using Linux cli tools like grep.

ld13

Honorary Master
Any programming experience? I'd probably go the Python route, should be easy enough even for a total beginner.

Minor experience. Started off with Java in school etc. and that is where my formal training ended. Dabble with a bit of php and javascript here and there these days. Most of my active code base (ha, my base is not as big as the word make it sound) is copied and pasted from other people's questions and answers before being tweaked to my will:

eRrtM0O.png

alphabyte

Should not be too difficult to set up macros, especially if you are not an experienced programmer.
Also keep in mind that someone else may have to take over the job from you in the future.

ld13

Honorary Master
Also keep in mind that someone else may have to take over the job from you in the future.