Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#1
Good day everyone, I hope you are all doing well. Unfortunately I'm in a situation that just doesn't make sense to me so I'm wondering if someone could help.

The maximum supported ADSL speed for my area is 20Mbps, in fact my neighbors, literally the houses next door all support 20Mbps lines. Yesterday I got my Telkom landline installed and was told by numerous ISPs that the maximum ADSL speed for my landline is only 4Mbps. I then checked Telkom's coverage map and lo and behold, 4Mbps is all I can get even though the houses next door all support 20Mbps, even after checking each one of their individual addresses on the map.

Why is this? I was under the impression that 20Mbps is something I could get as well considering that everyone within a 25 meter radius can all get that speed. I also live less than 500 meters from the exchange so I don't understand why I can't obtain the speeds that others are obtaining around me.

Take note that this a freshly installed landline that does not have an ADSL line activated just yet. LTE and fibre is also not an option in my area.

Perhaps this is something so simple, I just haven't been able to come up with any sort of solution.

Thanks in advance to all of those that help.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#3
Did you try speaking with Openserve directly rather to see if they can give you 20Mbps?
Well according to the Operserve employee who came to install my Telkom land-line (I assume he is a Openserve employee because he drives one of their trucks and wears one of their shirts), he said that the maximum supported speed for my area is 20Mbps. It's all very confusing because the houses around me support that speed but unfortunately my land-line doesn't.
 

ronnie_94

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
378
#5
Had this issue, gave up eventually trying to explain that everyone around me has this speed but it shows 4 for me and moved to lte.

Few months later the coverage map showed the right speed again.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#7
Had this issue, gave up eventually trying to explain that everyone around me has this speed but it shows 4 for me and moved to lte.

Few months later the coverage map showed the right speed again.
It seems like a very odd situation. Did you ever make the switch back to ADSL or did you just stay on LTE?
 

ronnie_94

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
378
#8
It seems like a very odd situation. Did you ever make the switch back to ADSL or did you just stay on LTE?
Lte contract is 2 years, depending where you are and speeds etc 100% worth it, 55 ping and 100+ dl speed Im staying lte until fibre becomes available.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#10
Do you happen to know a lot of people who would choose copper over fibre if they had a choice? :rolleyes:

The more obvious conundrum is why anyone would choose Mweb as their ISP...
In my previous place, I never had a days issue with MWEB. I suppose I was one of the lucky ones.
 

Lupus

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
14,470
#11
Do you happen to know a lot of people who would choose copper over fibre if they had a choice? :rolleyes:

The more obvious conundrum is why anyone would choose Mweb as their ISP...
There might be some nutters out there, you never know ;-). I actually did choose Mweb as my ISP, haven't had any issues.
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
264
#12
Assultica, the following is needed to possibly solve your issue:
a. Please provide the DSL line stats from your router.
Signal to noise, Attenuation, and line speeds.
b. If you get values of point a from your neighbour that would be excellent.
==> Now we will know the difference between the two lines.
c. Tell us the router models both you and the neighbour use.
d. Ignore the comments about fibre above. Fibre is available for a selected few in za. This will remain the case for years to come.
 
Last edited:

ronnie_94

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
378
#13
Assultica, the following is needed to possibly solve your issue:
a. Please provide the DSL line stats from your router.
Signal to noise, Attenuation, and line speeds.
b. If you get values of point a from your neighbour that would be excellent.
==> Now we will know the difference between the two lines.
c. Tell su the router models both you and the neighbour use.
d. Ignore the comments about fibre above. Fibre is available for a selected few in za. This will remain the case for years to come.
Good luck, I tried everything.
 

deweyzeph

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
6,814
#14
Just apply for 20Mbps and it will probably be provisioned. I had the same issue in my area. We have 40Mbps VDSL and the coverage maps still showed 4Mbps ADSL was all we could get. It wasn't a problem though, I just applied for 40Mbps VDSL and it was provisioned accordingly. Just ignore the coverage map and apply for what you want.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#15
Just apply for 20Mbps and it will probably be provisioned. I had the same issue in my area. We have 40Mbps VDSL and the coverage maps still showed 4Mbps ADSL was all we could get. It wasn't a problem though, I just applied for 40Mbps VDSL and it was provisioned accordingly. Just ignore the coverage map and apply for what you want.
That is looking like my best option right now, unfortunately after applying for the 20mbps line, they told me I can only get 4. I explained to them that the Openserve technician told me I could get a 20Mbps but unfortunately no luck. I'll just have to request an upgrade and then demand to be put on a faster speed.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
16
#16
That is looking like my best option right now, unfortunately after applying for the 20mbps line, they told me I can only get 4. I explained to them that the Openserve technician told me I could get a 20Mbps but unfortunately no luck. I'll just have to request an upgrade and then demand to be put on a faster speed.
I am also living in East London and recently upgraded my line from 10Mbps ADSL to 20Mbps VDSL. I am still unable to watch video streaming (TV channels) and this was the intention behind the upgrade. I am getting a ping of 35 and download speeds of 15Mbps. I am using an ASUS AC68U router of which I am very happy. My ISP is Afrihost.I am experiencing a sharp deterioration their service compared to previous years and hence looking for an alternate service provider. Will you recommend Vox from your current experience?
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,082
#17
Sometimes it is to do with the equipment available, not what the line can handle.
The line stats will help to check if there is a possibility of an upgrade, provided the ports are available on the VDSL equipment in the exchange.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#18
I am also living in East London and recently upgraded my line from 10Mbps ADSL to 20Mbps VDSL. I am still unable to watch video streaming (TV channels) and this was the intention behind the upgrade. I am getting a ping of 35 and download speeds of 15Mbps. I am using an ASUS AC68U router of which I am very happy. My ISP is Afrihost.I am experiencing a sharp deterioration their service compared to previous years and hence looking for an alternate service provider. Will you recommend Vox from your current experience?
I've got nothing but good things to say about Vox, although I've only been with them for just a few weeks. I did experience a day where my latencies were far above what I would consider normal but the following day it was resolved and I was pretty sure this was a Telkom issue but after about 3 weeks, that was the only issue I've had.

YouTube and Netflix have been great, on occasion I find myself watching 1440p content on a 4Mbps line which is a first for me. Depending on what I'm watching though, most things are buffered at 1080p, without any issues. If I watch gaming videos though, it will buffer at 720p as gaming videos tend to have a higher bitrate which a 4Mbps line just can't handle at 1080p.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
22
#19
Sometimes it is to do with the equipment available, not what the line can handle.
The line stats will help to check if there is a possibility of an upgrade, provided the ports are available on the VDSL equipment in the exchange.
Well after speaking to a few knowledgeable people over at Telkom here on MyBroadband and Twitter, they did confirm that I can upgrade to a 20Mbps account after a few line tests. The sales agents and even some of their technical support were using a system that was displaying incorrect values and therefore could not process my order as their coverage map only allowed 4Mbps. I now have the option to upgrade my 4Mbps line to a 20Mbps one, but for now I'm pretty happy with what I have at the moment.
 
Top