Mzansi Super League


Well-Known Member
Feb 28, 2017
Looking forward to the next set of games. Marquee international players should be back from the T10 league.

Dan C

Honorary Master
Nov 21, 2005
Jozi Stars
Chris Gayle, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Dane Vilas(w/c), Daniel Christian, Petrus van Biljon, Simon Harmer, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, Duanne Olivier
Cape Town Blitz
Quinton de Kock(w), Janneman Malan, Dawid Malan, Kyle Verreynne, Farhaan Behardien(c), Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Malusi Siboto, Nandre Burger

Jozi Stars have won the toss and have opted to bat

Live on SABC 3


Honorary Master
Mar 26, 2010
MSL gates WAY behind Big Bash

Cape Town – The Mzansi Super League has enormous ground to make up if it wishes to get somewhere even close to great southern hemisphere rivals Australia’s Big Bash League for spectator appeal at stadiums.
It is in its inaugural season, so the great hope by Cricket South Africa, who admittedly had to cobble this one together at relatively short notice, will be that it catches fire with infinitely greater gusto for the intended second edition in 2019/20 – when, hopefully, overseas players contracted won’t be coaxed elsewhere at the height of the tournament as has been the detrimental case in the maiden MSL.
There is simply no comparison between attendances recorded thus far in the MSL and those from the most recent (2017/18) Big Bash.
The biggest gate recorded nationwide in our T20 extravaganza is still the opening-night 6,948 at Newlands, when Cape Town Blitz entertained the AB de Villiers-led Tshwane Spartans.

There has been one supposed “full house”, but that was at the smaller venue of Boland Park for a Sunday derby between the Paarl Rocks and the Blitz and, with a figure of 5,544, even that looked noticeably short of the ground’s capacity.
More at:


Expert Member
Sep 25, 2012
Before the tournament started I thought Durban Heat would set the pace. Amla, Miller, the whole batting line-up has done national duty at some point. Top bowlers too.

Rename them the Durban Daredevils.