Question Regarding NWU BSc IT Degree

Kazuto

Hello!,

I have enrolled at North West University for BSc IT degree ( at the Vaal triangle campus ) .

I am in my first year now ( obviously ) - Since classes commenced not long ago, I had no idea what to expect, but to my utter disappointment, each and every module in the first year BSc degree is completely elementary.

With special note on the actual IT module, which is an introduction to... Excel? :confused:

Statistics - easy, Mathematics - easy, Business Management - easy, Accounting - easy.

Now I know full well that I cant expect to be doing high level "hard" work in the first year, but a thought crossed my mind, what if the level of difficulty didn't increase much year-to-year?

What my actual question is, though, is whether anyone here could give me some insight into what to expect from the second and third year ? Is it even worth it to complete the BSc ( and subsequently, the Masters ) degree at the university?

- In High school my IT teacher exposed me to work done at UNISA, which completely intrigued me. Ultimately I never got registered there ( horribly poor communication ) - So I accepted NWU, expecting more or less the same.

Bear in mind that my interest lies completely in Computer Science. This is what I was planning on studying at UNISA, but after speaking to the lecturers at NWU, they recommended that I do BSc IT instead of the BSc Computer Science as it was more "oriented" towards programming and Software development.

Sorry for the essay, I hope someone can give me some insight however, since I really don't want to sit through this mind numbingly easy modules for an entire year only to experience more of the same in the second and third year.