Rain & Port Forwarding

IceQB

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
2,665
Tried open ports for Xbox & Steam, not working.
Anyone else having issues or have it working?
 

StoneCold

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
3,528
Tried open ports for Xbox & Steam, not working.
Anyone else having issues or have it working?
If you're trying to do it via Rain mobile (the R250 uncapped product) it won't work as it is disabled. It does work afaik on their fixed mobile packages.
 

IceQB

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
2,665
If you're trying to do it via Rain mobile (the R250 uncapped product) it won't work as it is disabled. It does work afaik on their fixed mobile packages.
Why do the disable it on R250 package?
Support is useless, same generic answers.
 

ngoni615

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
174
it does work. what are you trying to do? I havent had any issues with the r250 package on any platform.
 

IceQB

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
2,665
Forwarding ports for steam & xbox in B315, when checking if open via canyouseeme they still closed
 

Norri

Active Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
97
I'm on their 5G product and it's not working for me.

Maybe all of us who need/want port-forwarding should send them support queries?

I use it for my work (local web-server, testing webhooks, etc) and for checking on my home security cameras when we're not home. I consider both of those important reasons to be able to forward ports.
 

BradleyKZN

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
1,300
I'm on their 5G product and it's not working for me.

Maybe all of us who need/want port-forwarding should send them support queries?

I use it for my work (local web-server, testing webhooks, etc) and for checking on my home security cameras when we're not home. I consider both of those important reasons to be able to forward ports.
Fairly certain I saw somewhere they are doing it so that people don't have there own webservers. They probably don't care if its a small one or whatever
 

Stillie

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
3,041
Just confirmed that port forwarding is no doable on their network.... although the response is a bit vague


The product is not suitable for automation applications such as port forwarding.
Although now that i think about it after the reply i got, i dont think this person knows what they are talking about:
So ports are blocked on the network?
we do not support static IP address as yet, however we looking into introducing it in the near future.
 

UglyBunny

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
19
Another developer here who uses it. I just use ssh & mosh to work off my iPad and do some testing, sucks that they don't allow it, guess I'll need to rent a box somewhere now...
 

TheBadMadMan

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
792
I am perplexed. Bro in law has rain. He is able to receive incoming connections whilst downloading torrents. I checked and sure as hell his listening port is open. B315 router. Nothing special that has been configured on his side. Any ideas?

Is port forwarding allowed/disallowed on a per area bases?

EDIT: Note, he is on the R250pm off peak data package, not on any fixed rain package.
 
Last edited:

Nqindi

Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
75
Would buying a separate router to handle port forwarding fix this issue?
 

TheBadMadMan

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
792
I am perplexed. Bro in law has rain. He is able to receive incoming connections whilst downloading torrents. I checked and sure as hell his listening port is open. B315 router. Nothing special that has been configured on his side. Any ideas?

Is port forwarding allowed/disallowed on a per area bases?

EDIT: Note, he is on the R250pm off peak data package, not on any fixed rain package.
So to follow up on this: This was the torrent client showing that a very few number of incoming connections were received, however it never really establishes a connection. (And this was after HOURS of the client being on and downloading.)

So to answer my original question: NO. Rain uncapped = NO Port forwarding.
 

Stillie

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
3,041
So to follow up on this: This was the torrent client showing that a very few number of incoming connections were received, however it never really establishes a connection. (And this was after HOURS of the client being on and downloading.)

So to answer my original question: NO. Rain uncapped = NO Port forwarding.
Its not just the uncapped offering that doesnt allow port forwarding, i have tried with my telkom sim as well and was not able to access the open ports
 
Top