Recommendations for a VDSL router

Ryansr

Expert Member
Best advice from me would be to get one with the latest Wi-Fi 6 standard (802.11 ax). The cheap TP-Link Archer AX10 AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 Fiber Router should be more or less what you need.

SuhailHurbans

Best advice from me would be to get one with the latest Wi-Fi 6 standard (802.11 ax). The cheap TP-Link Archer AX10 AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 Fiber Router should be more or less what you need.
Thanks, is this it?

And is it 100% a VDSL router? I'm new to all of this

RANGA555

Oh no, I just purchased it. So Is something extra required?
I dont know enough to say yes or no. But from my understanding there is nowhere to plug your vdsl line into that router.

I was also about to purchase it but stopped self to do more research

mr_norris

Expert Member
Oh no, I just purchased it. So Is something extra required?
Yes, that TP link is just a router. It does nothing but router and WIFI stuff. You can't plug in a telephone cable for ADSL / VDSL, it just doesn't work. You can either pair it with a separate modem (I don't know if you can actually buy those at a reasonable price), or just request a refund and buy something like this.

My suggestion is a pretty "budget" router. But it'll do the job. In the end you'll have wifi, some ports to plug in Ethernet cables, and you'll be able to use it with your VDSL line.

RANGA555

Yes, that TP link is just a router. It does nothing but router and WIFI stuff. You can't plug in a telephone cable for ADSL / VDSL, it just doesn't work. You can either pair it with a separate modem (I don't know if you can actually buy those at a reasonable price), or just request a refund and buy something like this.

My suggestion is a pretty "budget" router. But it'll do the job. In the end you'll have wifi, some ports to plug in Ethernet cables, and you'll be able to use it with your VDSL line.
Or this?

Apogee