Researcher looking for help

Hello everyone,

Mods, please advise if this in the wrong section.

I am a developer and part time masters student that is in the process of writing a research article on factors that affect the performance of developers at work. I became interested in the topic after numerous conversations with fellow devs about self-taught programmers versus those with university qualifications. After discussing the topic with some academics it seemed making the assumption that one could perform better than the other would be a gross oversimplification and that a multitude of factors have to be considered when evaluating what causes better performance at work.

This has lead me to my current research. I am looking to survey lots of developers and get a good sample size going. I hope to make a helpful contribution to the development industry with this research.

I am not opting to go for a online survey as this method ends up being a "spray-and-pray" approach and I have had a bad experience with it in the past. Instead, this time I plan on visiting companies with paper based surveys and handing them out. I would like to offer an incentive such as a raffle draw to everyone who returns a survey, and then have the draw at the company, but I still have to get ethics clearance from the university on this.

I am looking for people who can put me in touch with companies that I can visit. Please PM me if you are a dev at a company willing to help or know someone who could assist.

Thanks everyone. Your 10 minutes will greatly assist me.

cguy

Expert Member
Sounds interesting. I have always been astounded at the lack of clarity that many exhibit on this topic.

BTW, self taught and having a university degree are not mutually exclusive.