Stack overflow survey 2017

cguy

Executive Member
I made a comment on https://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php/878790-The-best-paid-programmers-in-the-world already.

I think that their cut off at $200k is bogus. It should be done relatively on a per group (locale, type of development, experience) basis. The arbitrary $200k cutoff to remove "extreme outliers", basically just biases the estimated salary in high income/CoL areas downwards. $200k/y total comp is barely average in the Bay Area and NY/London/Sobgapore finance.

Last edited:

cguy

Executive Member
From this, I gather that I have been coding professionally for longer than 92-97% of developers.

As a C++ developer I should also make $50k/y, but wait! In the US it’s $120k/y. Lucky me :)

zippy

Honorary Master
I bet employers saddled with paying Scala salaries must be having sleepless nights and asking who the idiot is who got them invested in Scala :)

gkm

Expert Member
I bet employers saddled with paying Scala salaries must be having sleepless nights and asking who the idiot is who got them invested in Scala :)

Or maybe they are happy to have such good developers, hence willing to pay to keep them. :)

[)roi(]

Executive Member
Nothing wrong with Scala...
...whilst not a mainstream language; it like Clojure, Erlang, F#, Haskell, and OCaml are still very much in demand.

Plus Scala is one of the only languages I know that has successfully integrated OO style polymorphism with the Higher Kinded Type polymorphism of Haskell. That in itself offers a lot of flexibility that isn't available in most multi-paradigm mainstream languages.

John_Phoenix

Expert Member
Wrote my first line of code at 6yo (apple 2 - Basic) with the help of my father. Been writing html, css and js since high school... Still lots to learn, still creative, still foolish, still hungry.

Coding is more of a second language to me than English will ever be.