TP link extender refusing password from and not connecting to Macbook?

LSC

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
We are all set up and configured with the main router which is also TP, and now have the Tp ink extender 850. The extender connects all our other devices, including android, phones, laptops, computers, windows and MacBooks etc. Just the 1 macbook pro running yosemite is not connecting. It finds the extender and requests password which I enter, however it tells me the password is incorrect. ALL the other devices have the same correct password. This one is being refused. I've updated everything, disconnected, reconfigured etc etc. Same "wrong password" message... Any bypass or alternative setting suggestions to connect this Macbook to the extender?
 

SauRoNZA

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
34,120
Running both 2.4ghz and 5ghz on a single SSID? Try splitting them to test again.

Channel 13 by any chance?

Try to skip all things automatic and use manual settings. Channels, security etc.

WPA2 and AES, Channels 1-11 only on 2.4ghz.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: LSC

LSC

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Make sure your country is set to South Africa in your wireless settings. Aswell as your NTP needs to be correct
thanks the telephone support folks went through all the TP setting with me so all good there
 

LSC

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Running both 2.4ghz and 5ghz on a single SSID? Try splitting them to test again.

Channel 13 by any chance?

Try to skip all things automatic and use manual settings. Channels, security etc.

WPA2 and AES, Channels 1-11 only on 2.4ghz.

Thanks - sounds a bit techy for me.... would I need to log into the configuration settings again and reset those? Or just buy a different repeater that will automatically allow all devices to easily connect? Which do you recommend under R500??
 

SauRoNZA

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
34,120
Thanks - sounds a bit techy for me.... would I need to log into the configuration settings again and reset those? Or just buy a different repeater that will automatically allow all devices to easily connect? Which do you recommend under R500??
Login and fix the problem.

Buying another one isn’t a solution.

Repeaters in fact should be avoided at all costs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LSC

maxxis

Active Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
73
Had this problem before between a MacBook and Netgear router. Switched to a Dlink. Problem didn’t go away.

WPA2 PSK password required?

Try to first forget the network and reconnect to it.

Then open System Preferences / Network / WIFI / Advanced / TCP/IP and then click the Renew DHCP Lease.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LSC

Nuro

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
1,749
At one stage we had a strange case where Apple hardware did not like a special character in the password. Windows/Android/Linux worked just fine. Try letters and numbers only, but this was a couple of years ago.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LSC

LSC

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Thanks - sounds a bit techy for me.... would I need to log into the configuration settings again and reset those? Or just buy a different repeater that will automatically allow all devices to easily connect? Which do you recommend under R500??

both router and extender are 2.4Ghz
 

LSC

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Running both 2.4ghz and 5ghz on a single SSID? Try splitting them to test again.

Channel 13 by any chance?

Try to skip all things automatic and use manual settings. Channels, security etc.

WPA2 and AES, Channels 1-11 only on 2.4ghz.

Hi where do I check these channel numbers?
 

r00igev@@r

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,470
WiFi Extenders are like pineapple on a pizza....
Avoid unless you have a thick skin!!!!
 
Top