advice on TFSA

maqsmaqs

good afternoon all
i am a non SA resident in SA and i have been told i can open a TFSA
i am about to send in paperwork for my permanent residency so am hoping to put funds into a TFSA here

which TFSAa would you recommend me investing into

have limited investment knowledge but hoping to get some good advice on here

lsheed_cn

Expert Member
TFSA max tax free contribution is R 500k, thats not much in real currencies.
The yearly limit of R33k is also peanuts, I personally wouldn't bother. I'd suggest keeping money in real currencies not mickey mouse ones. You'll gain more long term.

Hamster

Resident Rodent
TFSA max tax free contribution is R 500k, thats not much in real currencies.
The yearly limit of R33k is also peanuts, I personally wouldn't bother. I'd suggest keeping money in real currencies not mickey mouse ones. You'll gain more long term.
Peanuts to the fortunate yes, but for most saving R33k pa is unrealistic. So let's continue this thread dismounted from our highly rich horses.

You should take advantage of every tax break you can. And if you want you can buy USD/EUR etc. trackers in the ETF so you really do not need to be exposed to our "Mickey Mouse" currency even though with our higher interest rate you'll probably gain more.

Timeframe? What do you want the money for? Boosting retirement?
Personally, if you don't use the TFSA for retirement savings it's a waste. Your real gains are going to come 20+ years after you started.

lsheed_cn

Expert Member
Peanuts to the fortunate yes, but for most saving R33k pa is unrealistic. So let's continue this thread dismounted from our highly rich horses.

You should take advantage of every tax break you can. And if you want you can buy USD/EUR etc. trackers in the ETF so you really do not need to be exposed to our "Mickey Mouse" currency even though with our higher interest rate you'll probably gain more.