Any ISPs that work with FTTA.co.za?

TheLaggingShaman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
245
I am very keen to sign up with any decent ISP to use over my building's "open access" network. The network is owned/operated by Fibre to the Apartment (https://ftta.co.za/) which I've had a constant routing issues with, not to mention some of the slowest support times.

So far I have tried signing up for Mind The Speed, but FTTA required them to submit an application to connect over their network. MTS said this impossible to do for a single sale.

So, any ISPs out there that have done or can do this? Or any other unfortunate folk in an FTTA building that have had success getting their own ISP?

Cheers
 

Liam77

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Messages
22
I am very keen to sign up with any decent ISP to use over my building's "open access" network. The network is owned/operated by Fibre to the Apartment (https://ftta.co.za/) which I've had a constant routing issues with, not to mention some of the slowest support times.

So far I have tried signing up for Mind The Speed, but FTTA required them to submit an application to connect over their network. MTS said this impossible to do for a single sale.

So, any ISPs out there that have done or can do this? Or any other unfortunate folk in an FTTA building that have had success getting their own ISP?

Cheers
Hello

Stuck in the same predicament now - did you manage to find a solution to this?

I am struggling to get any help from other ISP's regarding this.

Regards
 

HartsockZA

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
699
Yea to pay another network operator kinda sucks, especially for this ftta. and they don't really look open at all. No ways your complex can kick em out? I know already of a few complexes in the East of pretoria that fell for this type of deployment now they stuck with the likes of voda fiber for 6 months and any other ISP doesn't want to deploy in there cause network fees are just too high
 
Last edited:

Liam77

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Messages
22
I don't really have a choice at the moment but maybe in the new year there will be alternative.

I am just a bit of a noob with regards to this but the fibre infrastructure is with Vumatel but would FTTA have the rights to each apartment? So I would imagine that is why other ISP's like Mweb etc are not able to help me with installing fibre into my unit?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,902
I don't really have a choice at the moment but maybe in the new year there will be alternative.

I am just a bit of a noob with regards to this but the fibre infrastructure is with Vumatel but would FTTA have the rights to each apartment? So I would imagine that is why other ISP's like Mweb etc are not able to help me with installing fibre into my unit?
If the fibre provider is Vumatel then you have the choice of a zillion ISPs. Never heard of FTTA though.
 

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
In the same boat. It seems FTTA setup the infrastructure for the development I'm moving into. Can I use any ISP?
 

Liam77

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Messages
22
In the same boat. It seems FTTA setup the infrastructure for the development I'm moving into. Can I use any ISP?
Got this doc from FTTA a while back, hoping to get my fibre finalised this week or the next so can provide an update then
 

Attachments

  • FTTA Open Access.pdf
    151.4 KB · Views: 20

ghostRgg

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
768
Got this doc from FTTA a while back, hoping to get my fibre finalised this week or the next so can provide an update then
It seems like they are claiming to be open access and I will give them the benefit of the doubt and hope they allow some ISP's to be onboarded.

"Fibre to the Apartment offers open access to any licensed ISP in South Africa, which allows them to offer their products and services"

This can be taken as good or bad since they could deny ISP's but I doubt they would be willing to go that far. Not sure how large their coverage is, or how many apartments they are covering.

EDIT: upon reading their website "Fibre to the Apartment is an ISP, specialising in building relationships with developers in order to supply residential buildings fibre data and communication networks FREE OF CHARGE at development level."

Kinda contradictory there.
 

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
I've moved in and still confused. The body corporate says I can use "any ISP" but don't know if it's based on Octotel / OpenServe etc? I called Cool Ideas and according to their staff / map I can get an Octotel package?
 

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
Got this terminal point already installed
 

Attachments

  • terminal.jpg
    terminal.jpg
    350.5 KB · Views: 38

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
Got this doc from FTTA a while back, hoping to get my fibre finalised this week or the next so can provide an update then

What is a "you will then be given a Fibre Media Convertor from us." <-- mentioned in the doc?
 

Liam77

Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Messages
22
Got this terminal point already installed
Same I have this one as well in my apartment. Apparently there's another box (ONT or CPE, I'm not sure) which your ISP will then install so I have no idea what a Fibre Media Convertor is.
 

ghostRgg

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
768
Not a problem, but still not sure if I can get any ISP to connect up haha
Its generally quite easy if you can find out which FNO did the installs. Generally your ONT will have a number on it which the ISP can use to get an order placed.
 

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
I see there's a Cybersmart Lightspeed man hole directly outside the building - not sure if that helps in any way?

I also received the same message as @Liam77

"If you would like to use another ISP , please note that you would need to forward them the Open Access letter which will then provide them with the information needed to contact us

They will then request to run over our network and will need to be approved

Currently we do not have any other ISP running over our network at your building so this process will take a bit of time

With regards to the ONT box and fibre cables , yes there is no fibre cables in this apartment as this apartment has never had fibre installed in the unit before from our records , should you take our services , we will come onsite and install this equipment for you"
 

squirrel

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,909
For reference prices at my building

10mbps uncapped R699
20mbps uncapped R899
50mbps uncapped R999
100mbps uncapped R1250
200mbps uncapped R1699

R1700 installation fee
 

ghostRgg

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
768
I see there's a Cybersmart Lightspeed man hole directly outside the building - not sure if that helps in any way?

I also received the same message as @Liam77

"If you would like to use another ISP , please note that you would need to forward them the Open Access letter which will then provide them with the information needed to contact us

They will then request to run over our network and will need to be approved

Currently we do not have any other ISP running over our network at your building so this process will take a bit of time

With regards to the ONT box and fibre cables , yes there is no fibre cables in this apartment as this apartment has never had fibre installed in the unit before from our records , should you take our services , we will come onsite and install this equipment for you"
I'm not sure what to do with that information still, if its lightspeed that is one thing, you could get them to do the install and ISP side of things. If it is not, then I have no idea what it is.

I haven't heard of FTTA and their website says they are an ISP, while in these letters they make it sound like they are the FNO and ISP at the same time, but are supposedly open access.

If they are Open Acess but don't have any other ISP on their network for "your building" then its a little concerning, but its either fibre with them, or no fibre it seems.
 
Top