Bsc in Computing with UNISA

I am starting a Bsc in Computing this coming semester with UNISA and was wondering if anybody can offer some advice on choice of modules. I work full time and will be studying part time.
COS1501 - Theoretical Computer Science I
COS1511 - Introduction to Programming I Co-requisite: EUP1501 (or XUP1501)
COS1512 - Introduction to Programming II Pre-requisite: COS1511 (or XOS1511)
COS1521 - Computer Systems: Fundamental Concepts
INF1505 - Introduction to Business Information Systems
MAT1503 - Linear Algebra

choose any two of the following:
INF1511 - Visual Programming I
INF1520 - Human-Computer Interaction I
MAT1512 - Calculus A

I would like to choose 4 modules this semester, or is that too many? Decision should be aimed at doing basics first etc....

Any advice on this would be great.

mr_norris

Expert Member
I did a similar degree, but my memory is bad :D

Here are my thoughts on the modules:

COS1501 [Hated this, but you have to do them right up to the last year, might as well get used to it. Found last year easier than first because I applied myself!]
COS1511 [I think this was C++? Good module. This is my foundation right here. I might be wrong cause the module codes have changed]
COS1512 [I think this is C++ again. Don't take this with the above, unless you want to get royally lost]
COS1521 [Just theory and some basic maths]
INF1505 [Lots of parrot learning / theory from what I remember]
MAT1503 [I didn't do this]
INF1511 [When I did this, it was Delphi. Was quite easy]
INF1520 [Parrot learning]
MAT1512 [I didn't do this]

During my last year, I really crammed. I think there was a semester I did 4, but if you're working, prepare to have no life or hair left.

I think first year is about the best year to take as many modules as you can. As you progress it becomes more difficult. Well, perhaps not for others, but it did for me.