Certain Huawei modems not supporting plain text USSD

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Hi,

please read the following, I was reffered to
by Paul from http://www.pharscape.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0

and please explain me how AT command can be sent to a modem connected to the Internet
and if modem is off-line,
how AT encapsulated *101# USSD command can be sent to a server to be processed to get balance check info from an operator's server ?

When my modem is connected to the Internet I can not send AT command to it ( to the same serial port under MS Vista).

When my modem is off-line I can send AT commands to it and sending
encapsulated USSD command to it, doesn't deliver it to a remote server,
so is resply is to be expected.

So mayby USSD command is saved in register/modem memory as unsent
USSD request, awaiting next Internet session ?

Please explain me how it works .

Thanks.
Darius
============
from
http://www.activexperts.com/xmstoolkit/atcommands/ussd/

Automating USSD using a GSM phone or modem
To automate USSD, for instance to check your prepaid balance before submitting an SMS message, can be done using an AT command.
All GSM phones and modems that support USSD also support the following command:

AT+CUSD

The following sample demonstrates how to check your prepaid balance:

AT+CUSD=1,"*101#"

+CUSD: 2,"Your current balance is $ 22.10", 0

In this example we are sending the "*101#" USSD command to the network.
Within seconds the network responds with a response text and an error code.
In this case we have an amount of USD22.10 left on our account.
The result code in this example is : '0'.

The following resultcodes exist:
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Huawei modems don't support USSD commands

Hi,

asked many times for any evidence, saved print screen
to show I am wrong and nothing of this kind for the last 3 months.

So Huawei cellular modems don't support sending USSD commands, sent from Huawei dashboard application.
Huawei cellular modems don't support account balance check from Huawei dashboard application.

If you think I am wrong, please name me a modem of Huawei cellular modem product, giving its model number, firmware version, hardware version,
dashboard application version
and just let me to test and buy it.

If you claim that support for sending USSD commands in Huawei cellular modems is disabled by telecom operator in sim card operation,
please explain me, how, the same sim card, can be used in 3G cell phone
for sending USSD commands, account balance check, if claimed USSD support was to be disabled by a telecom company.

If you still find, I am wrong, please correct me, showing print screens from
your Huawei dashboard application and Huawei cellular modem installed,
with USSD commands successfully sent - account balance check like *101#
and other so called express codes, enabled in 3G phones.


Darius

Hard questions to easy answers.
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Hi,

asked many times for any evidence, saved print screen
to show I am wrong and nothing of this kind for the last 3 months.

So Huawei cellular modems don't support sending USSD commands, sent from Huawei dashboard application.
Huawei cellular modems don't support account balance check from Huawei dashboard application.

If you think I am wrong, please name me a modem of Huawei cellular modem product, giving its model number, firmware version, hardware version,
dashboard application version
and just let me to test and buy it.

If you claim that support for sending USSD commands in Huawei cellular modems is disabled by telecom operator in sim card operation,
please explain me, how, the same sim card, can be used in 3G cell phone
for sending USSD commands, account balance check, if claimed USSD support was to be disabled by a telecom company.

If you still find, I am wrong, please correct me, showing print screens from
your Huawei dashboard application and Huawei cellular modem installed,
with USSD commands successfully sent - account balance check like *101#
and other so called express codes, enabled in 3G phones.


Darius

Hard questions to easy answers.
follow-up

better times to come

toda, running USSD command for balance check I get the following response

AT+CUSD=1,"*101#",15
OK

+CUSD: 0,"Sorry. Service temporary unavailable. Please try later.",15

===
Ok.
So temporary unavailable looks really promising,
as temporary doesn't meant never.

But others keeps saying.
Never say never.

So what is your opinion.

Please try later
What does it exactly mean ?

Tommorrow ?

Darius
Darius
 

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,920
Hi,

asked many times for any evidence, saved print screen
to show I am wrong and nothing of this kind for the last 3 months.

So Huawei cellular modems don't support sending USSD commands, sent from Huawei dashboard application.
Huawei cellular modems don't support account balance check from Huawei dashboard application.
I had a E220 - used the MDMA, balance requests, USSD, everything worked just fine. :confused:
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
I had a E220 - used the MDMA, balance requests, USSD, everything worked just fine. :confused:
thanks,
what I need is an evidence of ussd support in Huawei modem,
print screen saved to a file,
modem name, in your case E220
firmware version
hardware version


Asked Huawei many times to name one cellular modem with USSD support.

The same with kind reply from ginggs.
I need any evidence of USSD support for any Huawei support in printed form, printed screen is ok + data as above to present with my Telecom operator.

I need USSD to work today, for real, not in the past.

Asked Huawei staff many times to provide me with such evidence and let me buy a modem with USSD support.

USSD works for my operator in 3G cell phone with data sim card.
It doesn't work with a modem,
I can't send SMS from a modem.

Darius
 

Sselmrah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
207
I have an Huawei E620 pcmcia card, and using MDMA it supports ussd commands just fine.
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
I have an Huawei E620 pcmcia card, and using MDMA it supports ussd commands just fine.
can you save print screen to a file and give web link to it, showing sending USSD command worked for you ?

Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
I had a E220 - used the MDMA, balance requests, USSD, everything worked just fine. :confused:
btw
you named MDMA, what about USSD support from standard dashboard application by Huawei ?

Darius
 

wheunis

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
958
USSD commands from standard Huawei software is currently not supported, available, or even remotely possible.

You can however use Ginggs' MDMA application to handle USSD commands.
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
USSD commands from standard Huawei software is currently not supported, available, or even remotely possible.

You can however use Ginggs' MDMA application to handle USSD commands.
Thanks.
I am successful tester of MDMA.
Does it mean Huawei has had no idea to support USSD in dashboard application ?

Darius
 

Veroland

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
5,849
Excuse my ignorance, but USSD is pretty much just a form of SMS without the store and forward capabilities and can now handle sessions?
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Excuse my ignorance, but USSD is pretty much just a form of SMS without the store and forward capabilities and can now handle sessions?
Frankly speaking USSD is not SMS (from the Internet).
USSD is live session operation
SMS is off-line session operation.

Ok.
There is a nice workabout to send AT encapsulated USSD commands as
SMS messages and I tested it.

The problem is how to send such AT command, when Internet session is on
and serial port is busy.
I can't get connected to the same serial port to send any AT , so USSD doesn't work for me, when Internet session/ pppd is on.

Is there any break sequence incorporated into AT cellular modems to let me switch between data and command modes, on the same serial port ?

Closing, a number of applications with USSD support, has a special input field/ submenu for USSD operation.
So USSD and SMS protocols are not the same.

Darius
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,965
The problem is how to send such AT command, when Internet session is on
and serial port is busy.
I can't get connected to the same serial port to send any AT , so USSD doesn't work for me, when Internet session/ pppd is on.
Most Huawei devices expose two serial ports to the OS.

You should use /dev/ttyUSB0 your dial-up connection, and /dev/ttyUSB1 remains free for checking signal strength, sending USSD, etc.
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Most Huawei devices expose two serial ports to the OS.

You should use /dev/ttyUSB0 your dial-up connection, and /dev/ttyUSB1 remains free for checking signal strength, sending USSD, etc.


I didn't master putty yet and sometimes I can't get it connected to a serial port.
Yesterday it refused to get connected on COM7, COM8
and worked with COM9 only (read from device manager / ports/ modems/
MS Vista).

Following Vista tests on my notebook I go back to Linux.

Thanks.
Live long Genggs
Live long Huawei
Live long my telecom operator for USSD tests
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Most Huawei devices expose two serial ports to the OS.

You should use /dev/ttyUSB0 your dial-up connection, and /dev/ttyUSB1 remains free for checking signal strength, sending USSD, etc.
follow-up

Hi,

in my case (MS Vista for tests)
COM8 is 3G Application Interface
COM9 is 3G PC UI Interface

When MDMA session is opened and I am connected to the Internet
I can putty open COM8 port
but I can't send anything from a terminal window as ASCII and can see no prompt at all, after sending AT command.

Ok.
In modems section of device manager, modem port is described as COM7.

Putty can't open serial port COM7.

So I went to COM9 and
putty opening COM9 generates the following error message -
Can't open serial port COM9.

So it looks like both COM7 and COM9 serial ports are busy.
On the other hand, COM7 is not named in device manager / COM and LPT ports section.

So my question is, is communication to Huawei AI port COM8 done binary
or ASCII as AT commands or some another way, I don't know ?

Google search for Huawei 3g application interface

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Huawei 3g application interface&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=iw

Darius

creating Win-Win 3G Service Value Chain
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,965
in my case (MS Vista for tests)
Does Vista still come with HyperTerminal?
COM8 is 3G Application Interface
COM9 is 3G PC UI Interface
Which modem is this?
When MDMA session is opened and I am connected to the Internet
I can putty open COM8 port
but I can't send anything from a terminal window as ASCII and can see no prompt at all, after sending AT command.

Ok.
In modems section of device manager, modem port is described as COM7.

Putty can't open serial port COM7.
This is correct as the modem is being used by Windows dial-up networking for your internet connection.
So I went to COM9 and
putty opening COM9 generates the following error message -
Can't open serial port COM9.
COM9 (3G PC UI Interface) is in use by MDMA, you can confirm this by clicking on the 'Device Info' button. MDMA can be closed without dropping your internet connection allowing you to connect to the device using a terminal emulator (like HyperTerminal).
So it looks like both COM7 and COM9 serial ports are busy.
On the other hand, COM7 is not named in device manager / COM and LPT ports section.
This is correct; serial devices either show up in the Modems or the Ports section of Device Manager, not both.
So my question is, is communication to Huawei AI port COM8 done binary
or ASCII as AT commands or some another way, I don't know ?
Depending on your modem, COM8 could be a binary only command interface, my Huawei E620 works like this.
 
Last edited:

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Does Vista still come with HyperTerminal?

Tested Beta HyperTerminal for Vista, developed by the same company which did HT for XP.
Unfortunately i crashed for me.
So tested my modem with putty.


Which modem is this?

E169 and another model is E160

This is correct as the modem is being used by Windows dial-up networking for your internet connection.

Exactly.


COM9 (3G PC UI Interface) is in use by MDMA, you can confirm this by clicking on the 'Device Info' button. MDMA can be closed without dropping your internet connection allowing you to connect to the device using a terminal emulator (like HyperTerminal).

In my case, closing MDMA closed Internet connection (just tested).
So having MDMA running I can't open COM9 with putty
and having MDMA closed I can open COM9 with putty but no Internet (Vista).
I can send USSD commands in either connected or disconnected mode.



This is correct; serial devices either show up in the Modems or the Ports section of Device Manager, not both.

Exactly.
3 times in my case.
in the Modems - configured to COM7
in the Ports - COM8 and COM9


Depending on your modem, COM8 could be a binary only command interface, my Huawei E620 works like this.
Exactly.
So I have to look for USSD library to run basic tests in VB.

BTW.
It would really nice to have your MDMA closed, Internet connection on
and putty able to connect to COM9 serial port for sending USSD AT encapsulated commands.

But it didn't work for me as closing MDMA closes Internet connection.

To close MDMA I select and click a cross in upper right corner of MDMA window.

Thanks.

Darius
 
Top