Certain Huawei modems not supporting plain text USSD

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
When it asks if you want to disconnect and save the data counters, click "NO".
Yes, I did it. Said NO.
Your MDMA closed and Internet connection is still on.
Great.
Opened COM9 in putty

"

^DSFLOWRPT:0000037E,00000000,00000000,000000000009ADF7,000000000020F4E2,0000BB80,0001F400
"
As I see, the above is binary data for signal quality, cell id ?

Ok.
I can AT COM9
Tried to send USSD in AT , no success but can see, ported started to work
for AT commands.

COM8 is still not active under putty.
But I assume, AT commands can be sent from a script some way.


Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
USSD problem finally solved

Thanks to genggs, others,
my telecom, Huawei

Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Thanks to genggs, others,
my telecom, Huawei

Darius
My dear friends,

USSD problems as in the last 3 months.
Service totally deteriorated in the last days
and MDMA started to generate USSD error messages
as my Telecom's USSD service is provided from time to time,
nothing reliable.
One day is ok, another day
is not ok for USSD balance check reply,
so
MDMA generates


*** bad USSD response received ***
*** bad USSD response received ***

due to
CME error
no carrier
=================================================
putty diagnostics
============
AT+CUSD=1,"*155#",15
+CME ERROR: 100

AT+CUSD=1,"*155#",15
NO CARRIER

AT+CUSD=1,"*155#",15
ERROR

AT+CUSD=1,"*155#",15
OK

+CUSD: 0," balance info ...."

=========
back to MDMA USSD feature

*** bad USSD response received ***

Life is not easy with my telecom operator .

Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Please help me to upgrade E160 for USSD support

Hi,

if you aware of any working E160 cellular modem by Huawei
with USSD support (you can run test for USSD support with excellent
MDMA application), please let me know
and help me with upgrade mine.

Tried to open the following USSD test but failed.

Darius

====
mdma ussd screenshot
this is after i've typed *141#

http://visreuk.za.net/files/mdmajpg.jpg
__________________
cat knowledge | grep understanding
 

dirgeon

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
3
Huawei E160 USSD

You need to convert the string to PDU first (there's source code at that site). Spec info here.

For example, *141# is

AT+CUSD=1,"AA182D3602",15

Then, if the query was successful, you will get a reply like like:

+CUSD: 0,"<PDU hex string>",15

You'll need to decode the PDU string back to plain text. Also, line breaks are probably just \r (char 13), not \n or \r\n.

Works on my device:

Model: Huawei E160
Software: 11.608.02.00.00
Hardware: CD25TCPU

HTH :)
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,949
Perhaps the E160 just doesn't support uncompressed 8-bit chars in USSD.
I still wonder why, the spec doesn't require that the USSD string be PDU encoded. :confused:

Anyway, I'd like to add support for this bizarre way of sending USSD to my program. Would you be willing to run some tests please?
 

dirgeon

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
3
Anyway, I'd like to add support for this bizarre way of sending USSD to my program. Would you be willing to run some tests please?
Sure. Just email my username at gmail. :)

... OTOH, you might be better off asking someone with an E160 in your area. I'm not from anywhere near you, so I'll probably only get error messages, hehe. If that's ok with you (as long as you/I can confirm the USSD is being encoded/decoded properly), it's ok with me too.
 
Last edited:

thelittleprince

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
2
Bloody E160/K3565

Sure. Just email my username at gmail. :)

... OTOH, you might be better off asking someone with an E160 in your area. I'm not from anywhere near you, so I'll probably only get error messages, hehe. If that's ok with you (as long as you/I can confirm the USSD is being encoded/decoded properly), it's ok with me too.
Hi Ginggs,

I have a K3565 (aka E160X) that is also giving me mega problems with USSD. At a stage I was able to send normal text USSD's (AT+CUSD=1,"*100#",15) and received it on the same UI com. Now I only get a OK, and no response on either coms. ALL THIS from hyperterminal / VB

In your app it works fine?!!!

PLEASE HELP! I am more thank willing to do tests for you!!!

PS: Great APP, Great Support and Help and great Forum.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,949
I have a K3565 (aka E160X) that is also giving me mega problems with USSD. At a stage I was able to send normal text USSD's (AT+CUSD=1,"*100#",15) and received it on the same UI com. Now I only get a OK, and no response on either coms. ALL THIS from hyperterminal / VB

In your app it works fine?!!!
The current version of my app only supports plain text USSD, so if it works there your modem must support it.

Update: As of version 1.0.0.30, MDMA supports PDU encoded USSD as used by the E160, the K3565 uses plain text USSD.
 
Last edited:

dmm611

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
2
Hi darius,

I'm very new in USSD.


I have telecom USSD number, ip and API.


the APi only give like BIND_TRANSMITTER.
So how i can connect to the telecom application.

Thank You
 

Raknaldag

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
7
Hi Darius!

You said that it is solved, can you share us the solution please?
Like you I also use the ActiveXperts software to send/receive sms and now to send at command!

What modem brand do you use? I use Huawei one.
 

Raknaldag

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
7
Hi everybody.

Finally, is this thread solved? What is the final solution?

First, thanks to Darius for having created this thread

Darius said:
Huawei support team responded that none firmware supported USSD.

So if not firmware, so what supported USSD AT commands under MAC in Huawei modems installed under MAC ?

Darius
I also have a HUAWEI E1552 usb modem and I can't send USSD command the check my balance with ActiveXperts software? Is there init command to send before calling AT+CUSD=1 ?
 

Raknaldag

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
7
Ussd encoding a bit different for Huawei modems, how to get their callback datas

Hi everybody!

I've always thought that Huawei modems don't support USSD commands, that's completely incorrect!!!

The problem in handling USSD with this brand is that command is:
AT+CUSD=1,"A3986C3602",15
instead of
AT+CUSD=1,"#357#",15

AT+CUSD=1,"32",15
instead of
AT+CUSD=1,"2",15

What is this encoding: A3986C3602 for example?

My main problem is now how to check the text response. In other brand of modem, I just send an empty at-command to make sure to receive the text response but with Huawei I don't know!!!??? Do you know?

Raknaldag
 

Sonic2k

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
7,641
A setting will likely make it output the result to the TE.. most GSM engines I've worked with, definitely have provision for it.
USSD is part of the GSM standard, so its mandatory for any GSM compliant modem to support it! Implementations do differ. HUAWEI, as do most Chinese, always bastardize things!
 

Raknaldag

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
7
A setting will likely make it output the result to the TE..
TE?

USSD with the Huawei connection software works correctly but when I write a program for myself using AT commands, to check the text result of an ussd command, I don't know because it is different than other brand (Samba, ZTE, Prolink...) for Huawei.

In fact, in general, how to check the result of an ussd command in AT commands??????
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,949

GreGorGy

BULLSFAN
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
14,789
For Mac, mAcme has a pdu/plain text mode

Horrible old thread this - wish I had seen it when it first started and I coulda put an end to it back then regarding PDU, which is the standard and not some horrible chinese backwards method.
 

Raknaldag

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
7
I believe this is called PDU encoding.
Exactly, it is PDU mode! Huawei modems with Huawei firmware don't support plain text.

But with other firmwares, when sending ussd commands, plain text is supported bug response text is an hexadecimal text?? Is that normal? hexadecimal which is not PDU but the unicode values of the text!!!
 
Top