DVB-T2 switch-on scheduled for June 2011

hmmm, dvb noob here, how is this different than the other channels i could already pick up with my dvb-t tuner?

Isnt Some of the Sony/Samsung Sets have the digital tuner nice if we could use it

Why is it that it seems we will have such a limited amount of channels on our DTT? When I was in the UK my friend had DTT free to air and they had a sh*t load of channels there on DTT. Mostly the biggest load of crap....but still...it was a lot more than 10! Is it some kind of tech limitation that Sentech has or is it just that there is not so many companies willing to provide content for our DTT?

i also have a dvb-t receiver, i ponder if i should pay my tv license

Oh yippie.. 10 SABC channels..... colour me not-bloody-impressed on this one actually.

Why is it that it seems we will have such a limited amount of channels on our DTT? When I was in the UK my friend had DTT free to air and they had a sh*t load of channels there on DTT. Mostly the biggest load of crap....but still...it was a lot more than 10! Is it some kind of tech limitation that Sentech has or is it just that there is not so many companies willing to provide content for our DTT?

My guess would be that the they want to open the 700Mhz airwaves for other purposes. Having digital you would probably have a very fixed frequency range (not currently what I see with VHF/UHF) but by increasing the channels too much will mean more carriers will be required again taking away bandwidth for other purposes. There was a push for cellular deployment in 700Mhz (similar to US) but as far as I know this was unsuccessful.

I can actually pick up the digital feed with my Sony Bravia, I can see the EPG info and everything - however the video/audio feed is encrypted.