Extreme delay to EU servers?

Sylas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
350
Hi all

I'm currently playing on Mazrigos EU. I use iBurst in Somerset West and usually get a ping of about 300ms(using a tunbelling software called PingFu). However, for the past two days I have been experiencing extreme lag during the evenings to the point of unplayability. Before we narrow this problem down to iBurst(as I'm sure everyone is eager to do, including myself), 2 of my friends on the same server are experiencing similar issues at night(high latency and spikes). They are both on unshaped ADSL packages.

It should be noted that I have retained full speed on downloads. Is anyone else experiencing problems when playing on the EU servers?
 
Last edited:

diegoa

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,618
You not alone, please post under my post under iBurst forums, I been having this for last 2-3 days and its annoying. Also under General ADSL people with same issues for last few days.
 
Last edited:

diegoa

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,618
Tracert to WoW-EU Hellscream server
ISP: iBurst
Time: 10:30 PM
Date: 02/07/2009
Source IP:41.208.202.79
Destination IP:80.239.149.15

Tracing route to 80-239-149-15.customer.teliacarrier.com [80.239.149.15]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 41 ms 42 ms 42 ms wbs-41-208-200-1.wbs.co.za [41.208.200.1]
2 66 ms 105 ms 42 ms 192.168.0.97
3 62 ms 46 ms 50 ms 192.168.0.113
4 58 ms 42 ms 42 ms iburst-41-213-126-21.iburst.co.za [41.213.126.21
]
5 58 ms 66 ms 50 ms 41.0.4.225
6 351 ms * 249 ms ge-6-4-581.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.1
37]
7 273 ms 246 ms 269 ms ae-12-51.car2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.67]
8 308 ms 292 ms * telia-level3-ge.London1.Level3.net [4.68.111.182
]
9 257 ms 245 ms * ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.251.18]
10 257 ms 242 ms 300 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.254.209]
11 288 ms 261 ms 269 ms ffm-bb1-pos6-0-0.telia.net [213.248.64.109]
12 285 ms 269 ms 269 ms ffm-b4-link.telia.net [80.91.249.237]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 *

Seems to be a problems between telia and level3.net which vodacom uses.....
 

Snowman

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
24
Tracert

Well, since I can't play I also did some "investigating" with my limited knowledge and it looks like there is a problem in the EU.

Tracing route to blizzard.co.uk [80.239.186.31]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * 13 ms 13 ms dsl-146-107-01.telkomadsl.co.za [165.146.107.1]
3 13 ms 13 ms 14 ms 196.43.35.49
4 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 196.43.35.49
5 35 ms 35 ms 34 ms 196.43.10.130
6 35 ms 33 ms 34 ms 196.43.33.5
7 217 ms 216 ms 216 ms lon-ip-dir-telecity-gig-4-0-1025.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.18.121]
8 216 ms 217 ms 217 ms ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [213.155.141.153]
9 216 ms 217 ms 216 ms ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
10 221 ms 217 ms 217 ms ldn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.249.181]
11 225 ms 224 ms * prs-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.254.211]
12 * * 223 ms prs-b1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.249]
13 224 ms 225 ms 225 ms prs-rosy-s50.telia.net [80.91.251.90]
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

And another

Tracing route to blizzard.co.uk [80.239.186.31]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms dsl-146-107-01.telkomadsl.co.za [165.146.107.1]
3 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms 196.43.21.166
4 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms 196.43.35.49
5 36 ms 35 ms 34 ms 196.43.10.130
6 34 ms 33 ms 34 ms 196.43.33.5
7 217 ms 216 ms 215 ms lon-ip-dir-telecity-gig-4-0-1025.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.18.121]
8 216 ms 217 ms 216 ms ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [213.155.141.153]
9 216 ms 216 ms 216 ms ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
10 217 ms * * ldn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.249.181]
11 * 225 ms * prs-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.254.211]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 226 ms 225 ms 227 ms prs-rosy-s50.telia.net [80.91.251.90]
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

Definitely seems like there is a problem on the telia network...

It's French is it not.... hope the do not manage their network the same way they manage their planes recently. :erm:
 
Last edited:

Kuga

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Messages
2,348
I was lagging badly tonight, some guildies as well. We are on Laughing Skull EU

Just did a trace route now
Tracing route to blizzard.co.uk [80.239.186.31]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 59 ms 55 ms 54 ms cdsl1-rba-vl2253.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.181]
4 55 ms 56 ms 56 ms 196.38.73.142
5 56 ms 53 ms 53 ms cdsl1-rba-vl52.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.137]
6 71 ms 51 ms 53 ms core1b-rba-gi1-0-5.ip.isnet.net [196.26.0.181]
7 263 ms 230 ms 225 ms mi-za-rba-p6-gi0-1-6.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.204]
8 227 ms 225 ms 225 ms mi-uk-dock-p2-po2-3.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.91]
9 222 ms 221 ms 221 ms core1a-dock-gi1-0-19-24.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.163]
10 492 ms 487 ms 475 ms core2b-dock-gi1-2.ip.isnet.net [168.209.246.66]
11 306 ms 472 ms 283 ms ge-8-2.r00.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [83.231.181.233]
12 409 ms 409 ms 394 ms xe-4-1.r01.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.126]
13 376 ms 381 ms 463 ms ldn-b5-link.telia.net [213.248.100.49]
14 487 ms 427 ms 388 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.252.197]
15 368 ms 382 ms 368 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.254.209]
16 420 ms 411 ms 441 ms prs-b1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.253]
17 381 ms 352 ms 354 ms prs-rosy-s50.telia.net [80.91.251.90]
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.

And again :

Tracing route to blizzard.co.uk [80.239.186.31]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 53 ms 53 ms 76 ms cdsl1-rba-vl2253.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.181]
4 58 ms 55 ms 55 ms 196.38.73.142
5 54 ms 52 ms 54 ms cdsl1-rba-vl52.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.137]
6 53 ms 53 ms 54 ms core1b-rba-gi1-0-5.ip.isnet.net [196.26.0.181]
7 227 ms 228 ms 225 ms mi-za-rba-p6-gi0-1-6.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.204]
8 226 ms 271 ms 226 ms mi-uk-dock-p2-po2-3.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.91]
9 223 ms 221 ms 224 ms core1a-dock-gi1-0-19-24.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.163]
10 479 ms 500 ms 497 ms core2b-dock-gi1-2.ip.isnet.net [168.209.246.66]
11 224 ms 238 ms 227 ms ge-8-2.r00.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [83.231.181.233]
12 448 ms 456 ms 437 ms xe-4-1.r01.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.126]
13 345 ms 372 ms 347 ms ldn-b5-link.telia.net [213.248.100.49]
14 424 ms 405 ms 402 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.252.197]
15 380 ms 411 ms 388 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.254.209]
16 327 ms 320 ms 295 ms prs-b1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.253]
17 263 ms 242 ms 250 ms prs-rosy-s50.telia.net [80.91.251.90]
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * ^C

Seems to me it's IS k@king bricks and the telia netork as well it's borked /sigh
 
Last edited:

diegoa

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,618
I get on my pathping to hellscream :O

8 --- 100/ 100 =100% 94/ 100 = 94% telia-level3-ge.London1.Level3.net
[4.68.111.182]
 

Sylas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
350
Did the same thing. Here are my results:

Tracing route to 80-239-149-15.customer.teliacarrier.com [80.239.149.15]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 41 ms 44 ms 44 ms wbs-41-208-224-1.wbs.co.za [41.208.224.1]
2 66 ms 44 ms 44 ms 192.168.2.1
3 67 ms 44 ms 44 ms 192.168.4.37
4 115 ms 49 ms 54 ms 196.25.133.117
5 259 ms 239 ms 229 ms 196.43.9.54
6 241 ms 233 ms 229 ms ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [213.155.141.153]
7 * 243 ms 229 ms ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
8 253 ms 219 ms 280 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.248.217]
9 * 259 ms 229 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.254.209]
10 262 ms 255 ms 384 ms ffm-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.248.70]
11 256 ms 249 ms 240 ms ffm-b4-link.telia.net [80.91.249.237]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14
 

semaphore

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
11,740
traceroute to 213.248.123.104 (213.248.123.104), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 login.router (10.0.0.2) 5.610 ms 6.110 ms 4.496 ms
2 * dsl-146-68-01.telkomadsl.co.za (165.146.68.1) 23.661 ms 10.338 ms
3 * * *
4 * * *
5 196.43.10.130 (196.43.10.130) 52.483 ms 12.585 ms 12.058 ms
6 196.43.33.5 (196.43.33.5) 11.151 ms * 11.372 ms
7 lon-ip-dir-telecity-gig-1-0-2.telkom-ipnet.co.za (196.43.9.217) 323.807 ms 216.536 ms 215.325 ms
8 ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net (213.155.141.153) 216.046 ms 215.686 ms 216.297 ms
9 * ldn-b5-link.telia.net (80.91.250.209) 216.656 ms 215.642 ms
10 ldn-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.249.179) 215.295 ms 216.535 ms ldn-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.250.169) 215.785 ms
11 hbg-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.254.218) 230.046 ms hbg-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.250.220) 229.616 ms hbg-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.249.15) 231.030 ms
12 s-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.249.9) 242.880 ms s-bb1-link.telia.net (80.239.147.165) 244.771 ms s-bb2-link.telia.net (80.239.147.169) 244.022 ms
13 s-b1-link.telia.net (80.91.254.57) 245.213 ms s-b1-link.telia.net (80.91.252.125) 248.046 ms s-b1-link.telia.net (80.91.254.113) 242.708 ms
14 s-hdn-i3-link.telia.net (80.91.249.69) 248.127 ms s-hdn-i3-link.telia.net (80.91.251.245) 251.480 ms 247.754 ms
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 *



thou i have switched to verizon on my unshaped and it seems fine.
 

diegoa

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,618
Guys please post a Latency report on WoW Europe Techincal Forums so they can get to bottom of this quicker. I just done one on my character Gulvan.

Thanks
 

Space_Cowboy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
305
Experienced wednesday night same issues was completley unable to RAID didnt even bother last night to check it out again

Using 4MB Unshaped DSL
 

Sythen

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
10
Does anyone here play Warhammer? Has there been issues with that? Or is this isolated to WoW?
 

BelAl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
182
.. has everyone forgotten about the upcoming patch? Could be blizz doing prep work in the background and screwing up our ms.
 

diegoa

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,618
I doubt it , sorry Semaphore, made a typo there :) Re-edited.
 
Last edited:

dyanamo

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
941
Have found all international to some sites is bad. I think its to do with our international networks here.
 

semaphore

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
11,740
.. has everyone forgotten about the upcoming patch? Could be blizz doing prep work in the background and screwing up our ms.


it has nothing todo with the patch, the patch is still in ptr. And that wouldnt effect our response to the servers, its on the actual route that it gets delayed.
 

lordneon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
318
latency did seem a bit high last night for me aswell. I have a idea it might be a problem in SA going international
 
Top