Free to Air DSTV settings

octall

Active Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
75
I searched today for the settings for all the fta channels and got a few but only one worked. Is there a list somewhere with all the settings for the satellite DSTV uses and the channels that can be found as well? BTV is probably the best one but I'm just interested to see what a person can find.
 

octall

Active Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
75
I tried these but it only the Sentech settings that work, BTV is pickep up but it blank, just a black screen. I tried rebooting the decoder but it still remains black.
 

Ivan Leon

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
5,637
Although it is fairly easy to follow the steps below, we must warn inexperienced users of the risk of accidentally altering the default settings, which might influence the quality of your default reception.
NB. Should your decoder only allow a limited amount of networks, please look at the bottom of the screen where it should tell you to move the arrow left or right, in order to open up additional networks.

A satellite free to air installation can be accomplished by most people that have the patience to follow instructions and a moderate electronic knowledge. If this is not for you, it will be far easier for you to contact a local satellite installer in your area to assist you. This tutorial assumes you wish to receive a single fixed satellite and not using a dish mover or rotor. For most broadcasts in South Africa, a dish size of 90cm is sufficient. Larger dish sizes may be required for more northern or out of footprint locations. In order to receive all channels, reception of both PAS7 & PAS10 at 68,5 degrees East on a 90cm satellite dish is required. If you cannot access all the channels listed, your dish is either not aligned properly and/or you're using a too small dish.

The settings described in this section is based on a the SD PVR's menus, but very simular to the DSD1110. At this stage, you can NOT setup these channels on the new HD PVR!

TELEVISION
The following are some of the channels you'll pick up once entering the settings below:
Mindset Learning, Mindset Health, Botswana TV, Vivid Mosiac, God TV Africa, Hope Channel Africa, ITV, Astro and various commercial channels.

RADIO
Radio2000, SAFM, Ikwekwezi FM, 5FM, RSG, Lesedi FM, Lotus FM, Metro FM, Good Hope FM, YFM, Classic FM, DW Radio, Radio Pulpit/Kansel, Impact Radio, Radio Pretoria, Trans World Radio, Channel Africa.

Step 1:
Before setting up your decoder, please ensure that your decoder software is upgraded to the latest version. To perform a software upgrade: Press the MENU button. Select "ADVANCED OPTIONS" and press OK. Select "DSD UPGRADE" and press OK. The decoder should start to upgrade the software now. If you are not sure about the version of your decoder software, you can contact Multichoice or your local DSTV technician/supplier and they will be able to help you.

Step 2:
Press menu Select "Advanced Options" Select "Dish Installation" Enter the pin "9949" Select "Network Configuration"

Select "Network 2 Setup"
NB: Leave "Network 1 Setup (Home)" unchanged!! Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" by selecting it, and moving left or right

Set Frequency to "11170" Set Symbol Rate to "26652" Set Polarization to "Vertical" Set FEC to "5/6" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 3:
Select "Network 3 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "11625" Set Symbol Rate to "15000" Set Polarization to "Vertical" Set FEC to "3/4" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 4:
Select "Network 4 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "11674" Set Symbol Rate to "26652" Set Polarization to "Vertical" Set FEC to "5/6" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 5:
Select "Network 5 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "12522" Set Symbol Rate to "26657" Set Polarization to "Horizontal" Set FEC to "1/2" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 6:
Select "Network 6 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "12562" Set Symbol Rate to "26657" Set Polarization to "Horizontal" Set FEC to "1/2" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 7:
Select "Network 7 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "12682" Set Symbol Rate to "26657" Set Polarization to "Horizontal" Set FEC to "1/2" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 8:
Select "Network 8 Setup" Set Signal Setup to "Enabled" Set Frequency to "12722" Set Symbol Rate to "26657" Set Polarization to "Vertical" Set FEC to "1/2" Select "Accept these settings"

Step 9:
Exit once to go back to the "Dish Installation" menu Select "Scan All Networks" Your decoder will go into scanning mode and might take a while to scan all 9 networks. Do not interrupt the process even if it seams to take longer than you expected! Once completed, your picture will return as normal. To access you public channels, press the "TV button" on your remote control. The "Bouquet Options" menu will appear. Select "Public PAS7/10" Pressing any of the arrow buttons on your remote, will open the screen with all the available Free to Air channels. Simply select the channel you wish to view and press ok to tune. To access the radio channels, simply select the "music note" on your remote (while still on Public PAS7/10 bouquet) and select which channel you would like to listen.
 

BLIXEMPIE

Honorary Master
Joined
May 22, 2009
Messages
10,350
BTV is only blank during the Fifa World Cup Games because they don't have broadcasting rights outside Botswana for the games. When no games are being played the channel is open.
 

Park@82

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
12,593
BTV is only blank during the Fifa World Cup Games because they don't have broadcasting rights outside Botswana for the games. When no games are being played the channel is open.

hmm saw that it was gone. Is it back now?
 
Last edited:

BCR

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,394
Botswana TV

I tried these but it only the Sentech settings that work, BTV is pickep up but it blank, just a black screen. I tried rebooting the decoder but it still remains black.


What I'd like to know is why Botswana TV was available before the World Cup (I think it was channel no. 147 ?). Now that the WC is a distant memory for many of us, why haven't Dstv reinstated it automatically ?

Is there a way to get it back by doing some sort of re-boot of the decoder (1110), other than the usual one ?

The only thing I was interested in seeing on that channel was them taking the occasional feed (late at night & on weekends for part of the morning) from FRANCE 24, the 24-hour English news channel broadcast from, presumably Paris.
 

Park@82

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
12,593
What I'd like to know is why Botswana TV was available before the World Cup (I think it was channel no. 147 ?). Now that the WC is a distant memory for many of us, why haven't Dstv reinstated it automatically ?

Is there a way to get it back by doing some sort of re-boot of the decoder (1110), other than the usual one ?

The only thing I was interested in seeing on that channel was them taking the occasional feed (late at night & on weekends for part of the morning) from FRANCE 24, the 24-hour English news channel broadcast from, presumably Paris.
Yeah I managed to get it back but on the Public is7/10 bouquet (39). Try:

Network 3 Setup

[BTV @ PAS 7/10]


1. Signal Setup: Enabled

2. Orbital Position: PAS7/10

3. Use NIT: Yes

4. Frequency: 11625

5. Symbol Rate: 15000

6. Polarisation: Vertical

7. FEC: 2/3
As shown in the link Ivan Leon (thanks Ivan) gave above.

I also have a France 24 channel (37 on the Public is7/10 bouquet). Not sure which setting did it though, maybe try:

Network 6 Setup [Novacom @ PAS 7/10]


1. Signal Setup: Enabled

2. Orbital Position: PAS7/10

3. Use NIT: Yes

4. Frequency: 12682

5. Symbol Rate: 26657

6. Polarisation: Horizontal

7. FEC: 1/2

or

Network 2 Setup [Sentech Vivid bouquet @ PAS 7/10]


1. Signal Setup: Enabled

2. Orbital Position: PAS7/10

3. Use NIT: Yes

4. Frequency: 11170

5. Symbol Rate: 266652

6. Polarisation: Vertical

7. FEC: 5/6
 
Last edited:

BCR

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,394
France 24 / Botswana TV

Yeah I managed to get it back but on the Public is7/10 bouquet (39). Try:


As shown in the link Ivan Leon (thanks Ivan) gave above.

I also have a France 24 channel (37 on the Public is7/10 bouquet). Not sure which setting did it though

Thanks for all your info. - will have a look this weekend when I've more time - don't want to mess around with existing settings for the decoder, so will look at the simplest way (of all those mentioned) of getting BTV back or France 24 on it's own, which will be even better!
 

Park@82

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
12,593
Thanks for all your info. - will have a look this weekend when I've more time - don't want to mess around with existing settings for the decoder, so will look at the simplest way (of all those mentioned) of getting BTV back or France 24 on it's own, which will be even better!

No problem, you probably wont need to change current settings /just need to ad the extra Network settings. AFAIK a reset to factory should take you back to the original settings (please confirm).
 

TheTwo

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
1,532
doesnt work

on my standard decoder, tried it out last night and in the end i had to switch off the decoder and let it re-scan :-(
 

Ivan Leon

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
5,637
FTA Settings

The settings I posted above have all worked on my SD-PVR (which I have since sold), a family member's DSD 1130 and an old DSD 660 I am currently using - so check your settings carefully when entering them, as ANY errors will cause issues!

Also remember to START with NETWORK 2 when entering the FTA settings - DO NOT change ANY settings for NETWORK 1 - (the Home Network) - as this is utilised for DSTV.
 

tRoN

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
6,621
Hi
I've entered all the settings in my dsd1110 but when I go to "Scan all networks" it says "orbital position is7/10 not enabled in lnb"
Please advise
 

BCR

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,394
Personally I think that due to software upgrades, this process no longer works.
Tried again this a.m., and was unable to get it to accept the settings for Network 2, 3 etc. setup.
 

TonyA

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
2,304
I was under the impression that this only works for the SDPVR and not the HDPVR. Is this correct and if so could you please forward the set up procedure. Thanks
 

Ivan Leon

Executive Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
5,637
@ BayCityRoller:

Check your HOME NETWORK SETTINGS, they should be as follows (hopefully not changed by MCA):

Your PVR should automatically populate its network configuration screen with the correct network parameters if you select DStv Pas 7 on the Dish Installation menu. However FYI, the settings are as follows (DStv IS7 only):

LNB Power: On
LNB Mode: Dual Frequency
LNB Lo Freq: 9750
LNB Hi Freq: 10700
Frequency: 11594
Symbol Rate: 27500
FEC: 5/6
Polarisation: Vertical
Use NIT: Yes

You may want to confirm whether you are getting all authorised DStv channels with your current decoder settings? If not, please try the above settings.

@TonyA:
Currently the FTA channels can ONLY be accessed on a NON-HD decoder - until such time as MCA upgrades the software on the HD PVR's to enable this functionality as well
 
Top