International Upload Speeds

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
With more and more of us working from home and video calling/Zoom/Teams presentations, backups to the cloud etc increasing in frequency and data size, international upload speed is becoming more important than ever.

I am on a FTTH service at home. I am battling like crazy to get decent international upload speeds. Downloads and uploads on local server run at my max service speed, so it cant be the line(well that's my reasoning). International downloads run for the most part at close to max service speed, a little bit of variation here and there, but acceptable.

International upload speeds just seem broken. sometimes less than than 1Mbs, sometime just a few Mbs. Its just unworkable.

Is this an ISP problem. Would changing ISP help solve the problem? A neighbor on the same FNO and on a different ISP but the same line service speeds reports even worse or similar speeds on the upload side.

How does one make an informed decision on which ISPs spend enough cash to purchase a decent service for their clients. You only find out after you have committed time and energy to the exercise. Its not like ADSL days when you could try out a test account. The local speed tests make a complete mockery of the "best ISP" landscape. That's too low a barrier and almost false advertising from my point of view.

Try the following tests on speedtest.net - change the server location to New York- Sprint.

Next try Dublin - BT Telecom.

I chose those two as they are representative of real locations a working person would like to connect and work with, but there are many others on the list that may work for you. Would love you to post your results here.
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
1616855217622.png
 

Attachments

  • 1616853906618.png
    1616853906618.png
    91.6 KB · Views: 45
Last edited:

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
1616855334218.png
 

Attachments

  • 1616854001431.png
    1616854001431.png
    88.2 KB · Views: 38
Last edited:

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
Local speed test - nothing wrong with it at all .

1616855529570.png
 

Attachments

  • 1616854168521.png
    1616854168521.png
    83.9 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:

DYreX146

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
417
With more and more of us working from home and video calling/Zoom/Teams presentations, backups to the cloud etc increasing in frequency and data size, international upload speed is becoming more important than ever.

I am on a FTTH service at home. I am battling like crazy to get decent international upload speeds. Downloads and uploads on local server run at my max service speed, so it cant be the line(well that's my reasoning). International downloads run for the most part at close to max service speed, a little bit of variation here and there, but acceptable.

International upload speeds just seem broken. sometimes less than than 1Mbs, sometime just a few Mbs. Its just unworkable.

Is this an ISP problem. Would changing ISP help solve the problem? A neighbor on the same FNO and on a different ISP but the same line service speeds reports even worse or similar speeds on the upload side.

How does one make an informed decision on which ISPs spend enough cash to purchase a decent service for their clients. You only find out after you have committed time and energy to the exercise. Its not like ADSL days when you could try out a test account. The local speed tests make a complete mockery of the "best ISP" landscape. That's too low a barrier and almost false advertising from my point of view.

Try the following tests on speedtest.net - change the server location to New York- Sprint.

Next try Dublin - BT Telecom.

I chose those two as they are representative of real locations a working person would like to connect and work with, but there are many others on the list that may work for you. Would love you to post your results here.
There's either packet loss on your line or your ISP is having problems. Same servers on a 200/100 line:

1616854545433.png

1616854605410.png

1616854653626.png

Also I would advise against showing your IP on a public forum.
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
There's either packet loss on your line or your ISP is having problems. Same servers on a 200/100 line:

View attachment 1042885

View attachment 1042887

View attachment 1042889

Also I would advise against showing your IP on a public forum.
Thanks on the heads -up. Fixed it.

Thanks for doing the tests as well. Appreciated. Cool ideas was one of the options that i considered, their website street address plugin was broken though, maybe they care more for the bandwidth than the website though!
 

silver6933

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
1,658
telkom

nperf test (avg)

local dl 50 Mb/s ul 22 Mb/s 5ms
UK dl 44 Mb/s ul 19 Mb/s 174 ms
US (est) dl 45 Mb/s 19 Mb/s 233 ms


last weeks webex and zoom test required 3 Mb/s to UK servers
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
telkom

nperf test (avg)

local dl 50 Mb/s ul 22 Mb/s 5ms
UK dl 44 Mb/s ul 19 Mb/s 174 ms
US (est) dl 45 Mb/s 19 Mb/s 233 ms


last weeks webex and zoom test required 3 Mb/s to UK servers
Will 3Mb/s support a 1080P screen share via Zoom or Teams. One assumes that most screens are 1080P, quite a few 4K, some even higher. If one is doing a presentation and the resulting image is 360p or even lower its not a good impression.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,902
Thanks on the heads -up. Fixed it.

Thanks for doing the tests as well. Appreciated. Cool ideas was one of the options that i considered, their website street address plugin was broken though, maybe they care more for the bandwidth than the website though!
The mapping is based on maps provided by the fibre providers, is the fibre provider MFN?
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
19,711
ISP Telkom:
Fibre 20/20
date and time: 21-03-27 19:15
1616865908819.png
1616866038878.png
 
Last edited:

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
28,651
1616869996471.png
/cries in free WiFi. :p
Can't wait till Monday when my 250/50 gets installed, half the price my 100/100 / 200/200 with promotion was.

Your speeds look like packet loss or slow window scaling, to fix that, run in cmd: `netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal` it sets the tcp window scaling to normal.
 

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,840
200/200 MFN with Cool Ideas
Not many can touch them with international speed
1616870571860.png
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
View attachment 1043027
/cries in free WiFi. :p
Can't wait till Monday when my 250/50 gets installed, half the price my 100/100 / 200/200 with promotion was.

Your speeds look like packet loss or slow window scaling, to fix that, run in cmd: `netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal` it sets the tcp window scaling to normal.
I tried the the command line tcp instruction, has made little to no difference.

1616872268899.png
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
28,651
I tried the the command line tcp instruction, has made little to no difference.

View attachment 1043057
Yeah, would guess packet loss then, MF is not a great network though, their pricing is insane, their support and network sucks, and they can't even spell network correctly, so probably MF and not the ISP.
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
Yeah, would guess packet loss then, MF is not a great network though, their pricing is insane, their support and network sucks, and they can't even spell network correctly, so probably MF and not the ISP.
Help me understand why packet loss would affect the international speed but not the local?

1616873750104.png
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
28,651
Help me understand why packet loss would affect the international speed but not the local?

View attachment 1043065
Every time a packet is lost the window scaling is reset, it will only increase once it's received an acknowledgement that the packet has arrived. Due to the longer delay in receiving acknowledgement, it will never manage to scale up.
1616878237999.png
 

Wynsam

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,358
So I ran a Iperf test to the cool ideas server as per another thread I found on packet loss.

1616926459909.png

above was on the iperf3 -c lnms.cisp.co.za -b 10M -u -t 60 -R command.

2.2% packet loss.

Second test showed this.
1616926605116.png

Most of the packet were lost?? Is my conclusion right?

This test showed this result.

iperf3 -c lnms.cisp.co.za -b 10M -u -t 60

1616926821128.png

6.8% percent packet loss.

Is this normal? How not normal is it if its not normal? Should this line have been signed off?
 

silver6933

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
1,658
run iperf against this

eu
paris.testdebit.info 9200 TCP/UDP

usa
iperf.scottlinux.com 5201 tcp/udp


I get less than 3% loss on Metro fiber N
 
Top