Karmic sync with HTC

Mononoke

I am very new to Ubuntu (my first taste of linux and loving it!) Need some help with getting Ubuntu to connect to my HTC Touch, connected via USB. When I plug it in dmesg gives:

[106864.749592] usb 2-4: USB disconnect, address 9
[106864.751160] eth1: unregister 'rndis_host' usb-0000:00:13.0-4, RNDIS device
[107790.920042] usb 2-4: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 10
[107791.156353] usb 2-4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[107791.251169] rndis_host 2-4:1.0: RNDIS_MSG_QUERY(0x00010202) failed, -47
[107791.260617] eth1: register 'rndis_host' at usb-0000:00:13.0-4, RNDIS device, 80:00:60:0f:e8:00
[107801.750023] eth1: no IPv6 routers present

Tried using gMobileMedia but it cant find the phone on /dev/ttyUSB0 or /dev/ttyUSB1 (tried all other connections as well but it still can't find the phone). The phone chsrges when connected and starts ActiveSync so I don't think there's a problem on the phone side.

What should I try?

Mononoke

Thanks, gotten a lot further than I was last night...synCE seems to be the way to go! I've got my files showing on the terminal using synce-pls...now to try to get nautilus to recognise synce:/// I need synce-gvfs... added deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/synce/ubuntu karmic main to souces, did apt-get update, tried sudo apt-get install synce-gvfs but i get "E: Couldn't find package synce-gvfs"

someone at http://wwww.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1308188 added the jaunty ppa to sources and got synce-gvfs...but I have the same problem as #8 on that thread, requires public key *sigh*

Thanks :) Will get back to this later today....baby needs mummy!

evan79

Hi Monoke, i found trying to sync my phone with linux to be a big headache in the past, maybe its changed now but for me I now use Virtualbox with windows xp installed, if you have windows vista or 7 either should suffice, you will need legit windows key.